We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,965)
Filter reviews
2,965 results
Traveller rating
1,094
1,228
439
134
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,094
1,228
439
134
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews o'connell street cassidy hotel great location temple bar tour buses lovely hotel buffet style short break would stay again we arrived early the heart of the city central location three nights hop on hop off bus city break comfy bed would highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
2,420 - 2,425 of 2,965 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2006

Myself and my boyfriend went for a pre-theatre meal in Restaurant Six which is part of Cassidy's Hotel one Saturday evening. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal and found the staff very helpful and pleasant. We were going to see a play in the Gate afterwards but had time for a drink in your bar. My boyfriend commented on the fact that he thought he had found the friendliest barman in the city. We decided then if there was accommodation to stay in your hotel as firstly it was a handy location after the Gate Theatre and secondly as we were enjoying ourselves so much in the hotel.

We managed to get a room and even then the helpfulness and courtesy of the hotel staff did not stop.

This was the first time I have ever stayed in Cassidys hotel and can certainly say that it wont be the last as we have promised to treat ourselves quarterly to a meal, a play and a stay in this hotel.

Congratulations on creating a little gem of a place.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sightsee14340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2006

As regular travellers to the city we usually stay at The Ripley but unfortunately couldn't get a reservation last time. We booked Cassidys online and I was so disapointed. We were given a small room on the ground floor and the noise from traffic was constant.We asked for a move but weren't entertained.
The lock on our door didn't work and despite asking time and again, it was never fixed. The beds were very uncomfortable - and very small! The staff were cold and unfriendly. Not at all interested in the guests. Overall the hotel looks rather shabby and could do with a facelift.
Cassidys Hotel is certainly not cheap. I assure you - there are far better hotels for much more reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank stevenjc269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2005

my wife and i went to dublin for some xmas shoppings and found cassidys on the internet. we arrived early(8am) but were given a room straight away, good start, manager on duty enquired if we had breakfast at airport and arranged tea and toast for us before pointing out the good shopping areas, room was what we expected for 3 star clean and cossy, fitting need a bit of attention but overall okay. food in restaurant and bar very good value,found staff friendly and helpful,would stay again and recomment to family and friends ,

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank briand123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2005

This Hotel was a warm and friendly place with a great atmosphere.The staff were fab along with the breakfast. The irish bacon and sausage were great. The position of the hotel is just right - a 10 min walk in the morning into Dublin - to get you going for the day! On our last day -we sat in the reception area on two very comfy chairs and we ordered a bottle of chilled white wine and smoked salmon sandwiches and watched the world go by! It was heaven and just what we needed after two days of Christmas shopping! Would stay there again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Go7972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2005

My husband decided last year that he wanted to spend his 60th birthday in Dublin and that he wanted our two "twenty-something" sons to come too. The job of making it all happen was mine!

Having read all the reviews up to early August I decided that the Cassidy was the one for us although I did get a little concerned when there seemed to be a bit of blip after I'd booked, with some not so good reviews. So much so that I e-mailed the hotel with my worries. I recieved a friendly, personal reply telling me that everyone at Cassidys was as committed as ever to maintaining an excellent standard and so it proved to be.

Us "oldies" had a third floor room at the front of the hotel and a welcoming bottle of fizz in our room was a lovely touch. We positively enjoyed the buzz coming up from the road, even opening the window at one point to make the most of it! The Spire, hated apparently by the Dubliners, was just down the road and looked great at night - we loved it! Our sons were in a slightly smaller room at the back of the building on the ground floor, both rooms containing one double and one single bed. Everything was clean and fresh. Getting up late, we declined the offer to have our room cleaned as we were only staying for two nights. Even so, we were offered clean towels. (The boys got up for breakfast but returned to bed until early afternoon so don't suppose they were too bothered about having their beds made either!).

We knew from previous reviews that the "hop on - hop off" tourist bus stopped just outside the hotel but had intended to spend most of our time walking around the city. However, due to a sprained ankle sustained two days before our trip, the bus really came into its own! It's a great way for getting your bearings on a first visit and for a taste of the history of the place. The only trouble is there is so much to see in Dublin - you can't hope to do more than scratch the surface in a weekend.

What with the ankle and the pain killers, I caved in early on our first night after we'd all enjoyed an excellent meal at "101 Talbot" just around the corner(lots of reviews on dedicated restaurant sites) but "the lads" headed off to Temple Bar to revel into the night and were very glad of the 24 hour porterage, my husband coming in about 3 a.m. followed by "the boys" at 5 a.m.! Needless to say the late breakfast was much appreciated but of course it's fresher if you can get there earlier!

Our meal in the hotel restaurant on the Saturday evening was the only disappointment as this was to have been the highlight of the weekend. The waiting staff were friendly and very hard working but could have done with a little more training. No-one came to ask if our meals were alright and when I mentioned that there had been a problem when the dishes were cleared - two had hardly been touched and so it should have been apparent anyway - the only reply was a look of surprise. So instead of "making a night of it" at the hotel, we decided to cut our losses at this point and, foregoing dessert and coffee, headed out to The Clarence down by the river for a drink purely out of curiosity due to the U2 connection. (This is one place it's probably easier to get in if you're with your mother, if you're young, as there are two door keepers to get past!!). The bar there was a very nice place to round the night off.

There are many hotels in Dublin and one to suit every taste, pocket and purpose. We wanted a cosy, comfortable, clean hotel with a bit of Irish character that would not knock too big a hole in our finances before Christmas. We also wanted somewhere that would be easy to get to from the airport but also near to the centre, somewhere we could easily "find our feet". As mentioned by the other reviewers, the blue bus from the airport drops you off outside The Gresham, you just have to walk back up the road a little way to Cassidys. The stop to return to the airport is across the road and even closer. (It's marked by an orange pole. We walked a long way down the road needlessly as we didn't know what we were looking for!).

You learn from the narrative on the tour bus that O'Connell Street had once been very grand with London plane trees planted all down the middle. They were digging up both sides of the road when we were there and O'Connell Street did look as if it had seen better days but the trees are being replanted and the street will soon be returned to its former glory.

You must do your own homework before booking but, if your wish list is the same as ours, I'm sure you won't go far wrong with Cassidy's. As for Dublin, we all enjoyed it so much we can't wait to go back to see some of the things we didn't manage on this occasion. Our house in "commuterland" seemed so quiet and dull after vibrant O'Connell Street!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews