We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,976)
Filter reviews
2,976 results
Traveller rating
1,102
1,231
440
134
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,102
1,231
440
134
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews o'connell street cassidy hotel great location temple bar tour buses lovely hotel buffet style short break would stay again we arrived early the heart of the city central location hop on hop off bus three nights comfy bed within easy walking distance would highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,951 - 1,956 of 2,976 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed in Cassidy's on the way through Dublin, with a couple of nippers in tow. Knowing Dublin fairly well I should have gone with something on the south side of the river but it was a good deal, so took it.

Firstly, the location - Dublin has become definitely more downbeat since I was last there in the mid 2000's, and the number of dodgy geezers on the streets has increased quite a lot. Not the usual affable drunkards, but those who look like they have a bit of a problem with authority. So, the location isn't ideal if you are not streetwise and/or have no sense of direction, as you probably do not want to wander off into the wrong parts.

The hotel staff were helpful but very busy - at times only one person on trying to handle multiple inquiries, and doing very well considering, but can be frustratining when you have kids with you. The hotel has a very small carpark which was fully booked all the time we were there, meaning we parked in a carpark about 1/2 mile away and had to carry cases back and forwards. Although it's a manned carpark, still increases risk and hassle - when we left, the ticket given by the hotel did not work and as we were going to the airport, no time to sort out and we just paid the full price instead.

The rooms were clean, but 80's decor, and the beds were very tired - if you had a bad back, I would guess the softness would not help. Rooms a good size, we had four people (2 adults, 2 kids) in one room and it did not feel small, but noise from the street through the old sash windows if you have a room at the front would be a pain (we moved to a different room after two nights) if you are a light sleeper. Breakfast very good - well organised and good range of food.

Overall, could be a great hotel with the room size and the helpful staff. but location and age means that it's a fair 3 star hotel - worth it for a deal, but not a special trip.

Room tip: Ask for rooms at the back, to avoid street noise
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripbunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here for two nights and overall the hotel was very nice. We were only about a 15 minute walk from Temple Bar, 15 minutes from the Jameson Distillery, and 20ish to Trinity College/St. Patricks Cathedral. Parking is available onsite, but you must reserve a space. Otherwise there is a public parking garage about 5 min walking away for a discounted price. We stayed in the executive wing, which was a little cumbersome to get to, but overall not bad. For the price, I have absolutely no complaints.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at Cassidy's for about 4 days while we were in Dublin. The location is great, lots to do and see. Just minutes away from some of the biggest attractions to see in Dublin. This is also one block from the start of the Hop on Hop off bus in Dublin. Cassidy's was a great place, we were able to check in early and the staff was very friendly. They gave us a map and although there was no air conditioning in our room, the windows opened up to give us a nice breeze. The food in the restaurant was great as well. All in all a great little place to stay and we will be back again!!

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckygilmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at the Cassidy's hotel in 2011 and really enjoyed our stay, the staff were very helpful and the rooms and food were really good. We were particularly pleased with the secure parking onsite as we had brought our own car via the ferry. The hotel is close to the city centre so easy to get to all the main site-seeing places. We look forward to staying there again later this year.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shigs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

nice hotel , when we arrived they were very friendly and let us check in early we had room 165, to find the room was a bit of a mission, down corridoor in a lift then down a tunnel then in another lift and then down another corridoor, when you have had a few drinks bit hard to find, there was a noticable smell of damp on the tunnel corridoor and also outside room 165, and also on the stairs in the restaurant, could smell it whilst collecting breakfast, room was ok, bathroom door needed a good wipe, all marks on the back, and the rim around the sink was alittle murky, the window silf in the bathroom was covered in a sheet of dust, but except from that room was clean , CLEAN TOWELS DAILY, and they provide SHOWER GEL AN HAND WASH which is a bonus, the view from room 165 not very attractive, a wall covered in graffit greets you, but we must remember its not the ritz!!
ALSO MUST NOT FORGET THE BED WAS SOO COMFY!!
staff were friendly except for one, but there is always one miserable sod is'nt there??
GOOD LOCATION and we would stay again for a few nights, breakfast is 8.50 euro if you book the night before, good breakfast, the bar is actually cheaper then some of the bars on the main strip! so we was happy to drink in the bar, very cosy seeats to... this hotel is highly reccomended for its location... also down the rd is a place called Toddys, thats a must as well can get a pint of beer for 4 euro and a brekie for 5euro inc coffee/tea!!

Room tip: have a double bed very comfy !!
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kcrackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews