We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,044)
Filter reviews
3,044 results
Traveller rating
1,082
1,065
502
229
166
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,082
1,065
502
229
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconnolly stationpremier roomtrain noisetrain lineo'connell streettemple barbreakfast roomcity centrelovely hotelhotel restaurantbooked this hotelfantastic staywe arrived earlyfollowing morningcroke parkfull irish breakfastyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 3,044 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018

We stayed for two nights in this wonderful hotel.
The staff was extremely helpful, professional and friendly. We had a small issue with the lock the first night. One member of the crew, Dennis, immediately helped us and offered us a solution. Very good value for money.
The food was very good and the service very nice.
I will be coming back, next time I visit Dublin.

Room Tip: Premier King or the Suite
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarkusS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear MarkusS07,

Thank you for writing posting your kind comments on Trip advisor following your recent stay here at the NorthStar hotel.

It is particularly pleaseing to understand that you found the team, especially Dennis so professional, friendly and helpful.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the North Star Hotel on your next visit when I'm confident you will find the service and food even better than last time,

Thank you again for your great comments

Kind Regards

Peter B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

Stayed here due to work commitments during inclement weather. The hotel was fine but the promised free wifi didn't work. There were either contention issues (unable to get an IP address) or the network would connect but there was on internet connection on it.
In addition, the room wasn't serviced on one of the days due to "staff shortages" - these shortages not extending to the bar which remained fully staffed.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EwanDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear EwanDuffy

Thank you for posting your review on Trip advisor following your stay at the North Star Hotel during STORM EMMA,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the difficulties you experienced with internet connections and indeed our failure to service your room during your stay.

I can offer no excuse however as reasons for these shortcomings, we had power outages internally and from our third parties during the storm causing wifi connection issues for only a couple of hours and our team members had, for safety reasons being advised to stay home during the height of the storm.

I am, however, hugely proud of all our team who went the extra mile during the treacherous conditions to provide comfortable shelter to many of our guests during the very difficult period.

Thank you again for writing and I hope that you have the confidence to return to the North Star soon

Kind regards

Peter B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Stayed at Northstar for two nights. We upgraded to the premier room to get a bigger bed and sleep better. Sadly the room we were allocated had a malfunctioning temperature control meaning it was constantly set to max temperature and it was around 20 degrees all night. After three visits to reception and some claims they were trying to bring someone in to fix it we managed to get moved to another room. This room was right next to a slamming door in the corridor which would vibrate the bed every time someone went through it.

Otherwise the room was great.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade to 'premier'
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwi319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Kiwi319,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay here at the North Star Hotel.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the the disappointments you experienced with temperature control in your allocated room and then the subsequent frustration of a banging door in the room you moved to.

I can offer no excuse however have worked with the team to review the issues.

We all hope that you that you will have the confidence to stay at the North Star again, on which occasion, I'm confident that you will find all to you complete satisfaction.

Thank you again for staying and indeed for your comments

Yours sincerely

Peter B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

A well managed hotel close to the city center that is reasonably priced and comfortable. Within 20 to 30 minutes of walking distance to the main touristic attractions such as museums, restaurants and cafes. Ela, the front office manager, was very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GlobeRunner34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Dear GlobeRunner34,

Sincere thanks for taking the time to review your Dublin stay experience at the North Star Hotel on Trip advisor today.

Its great to read that you found the hotel to be well managed, in a good location and comfortable. I am particularly pleased to read that Ela was so helpful during your stay.

Thanks again and I hope it won't be long before you again visit the North Star Hotel.

Kind regards

Peter B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

This is the third time we have stayed in this hotel and the accommodation keeps on improving! The welcome and arrangements for our party of 8 by Ella was honestly outstanding! It is a very clean hotel with good sized rooms, with regular towel changes etc. Good food available in the restaurant, which we took advantage of after our trip over from North Wales. The staff are extremely friendly and courteous and the location is ideal, close to the main station and shops. We will certainly be going back there next time we visit Dublin.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tanymarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear tanymarian,

Thank you for posting your lovely review on Trip Advisor following your recent third stay at the North Star Hotel.

Its great to read you kind comments on our clean big rooms, great location, good food and of course our fantastic welcome, lead by Ela and her team.

I hope it won't be long before you return for your fouth visit when we again will look forward to welcoming you.

Thanks again for reviewing

kind regards

Peter B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews