We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small homely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Uppercross House Hotel
Ranked #79 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Stayed here for one night while working in Dublin. The room was small but it was spotless and had everything i needed. Double bed was super comfortable. I was a bit worried when i saw there was a bar- but I didn't hear a thing from the bar when I was in bed. I did hear some slight noise from rooms above me when people moving around but not enough to disturb sleep. My room was a bit warm and i couldn't open the window as i was on ground floor- but when I turned of radiator the issue resolved itself. breakfast was good. To be honest- it was really great value compared with general hotel prices, staff were extremely friendly and helpful, there is free parking and its a comfortable and clean spot. I will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: maybe look for room on first floor.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Hi juliet m

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Wishing you a very merry Christmas!

Kind regards

Ann Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Uppercross House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2016

This is an OK hotel in Rathmines. It is a little dated and my room was small and cramped. However the staff were friendly and the service was good. Free parking behind the hotel is a bonus in this busy suburb, but the car park is dark and you need to be careful walking to the rear of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Hi Brendan

Thank you for your review following your stay. I am sorry to hear that the decor was not to your taste. The hotel is a Georgian building and rooms are continually renovated to keep them up to standard.

The carpark is indeed an outside parking lot and would not be as bright as an indoor lot perhaps but we do have external lighting. I'm not sure what you meant by needing to be careful walking to the rear of the hotel. I can tell you that the building, inside and out, is a safe one. Should you like to provide more feedback, please contact us at anytime.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

I've visited Dublin many times and after discovering the Uppercross, I always stay there. It exceeds any other hotel I've been in anywhere for its warm, friendly staff and atmosphere. The decor is lovely and from the minute you walk in the door, it feels more like a home than a hotel.There are many thoughtful touches, like the 2 computers in the lobby, a big help in printing boarding passes and for looking up whatever comes to mind. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet, and the staff go out of their way to help with anything. You never have the feeling you're just being processed, as in most hotels. The breakfast is plenty filling to start your day and there's a good variety for other meals. At night especially, the restaurant and hotel have a wonderfully intimate atmosphere The location is another big plus, within steps of the post office, bank, pharmacies, supermarket and many other shops, yet still having the feel of a neighborhood. Bus service is also at your feet when you stay at the Uppercross. The buses run like clockwork, getting you to the city center in about 15 minutes, and some directly to interesting historical sites beyond, Walking through the pretty neighborhoods to the city center is an enjoyable option too. I can't recommend the Uppercross enough..

Room Tip: Generally all quiet
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jwhnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Would just like to stay a huge thank you to the staff in the Uppercross Hotel for being more than accommodating during my stay.
Lovely, friendly hotel with a great atmosphere, and a big Thank you for the lovely lady on reception for the extra 50 cents!!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mcadamcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

In Ireland for a conference, unfortunately we booked a little late so had limited options. Stayed here for 4 nights with a group of friends.

Rooms: Comfortable, with all amenities including a locker (thank you for that). The floors are heated, so probably a good place to stay for a winter booking.
Staff: Very helpful, we had a few specific requests and they were all taken care of. We left very early on the last day and they even took care of an early breakfast for us at no added cost. Really appreciate the efforts.
Food: A good breakfast spread was included in the room rate. Taste was just OK but I would give them the benefit of the doubt and blame my palate and not the cooking.
Location: Is OK, a bit far from city center (approx 30 min walk) but good connectivity via various buses (14, 15, 140) and we never had a problem with transport.
Value for money: The rooms were a bit above average cost for a hotel at this location, but I think the service makes up for it and I would stay again if I came back.

Some added facilities we didn't use: The hotel also has available free parking and an attached bar.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrVineetGGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dylan Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
1,009 reviews
Castle Hotel
#57 of 150 in Dublin
1,996 reviews
West County Hotel
#84 of 150 in Dublin
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen Lodge
#7 of 150 in Dublin
581 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#72 of 150 in Dublin
805 reviews
Wynn's Hotel
#34 of 150 in Dublin
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uppercross House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uppercross House Hotel

Address: 26-32 Upper Rathmines Road, Dublin 6, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Dublin
#65 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: €121 - €180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Uppercross House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uppercross House Hotel is a beautiful 3 star boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of Rathmines and very close to Dublin City. We offer a warm welcome and easy access to all attractions. Our hotel has 49 en-suite rooms and an award winning bar and restaurant “Mother Reillys”, The hotel is located 3km from Dublin City in a popular and vibrant district of Rathmines which offers an array of good restaurants, café-bars, pubs, shops, fitness centres & swimming pools. The AVIVA Stadium is within walking distance (2.5km).We are serviced by excellent transport on our doorstep, the nearest bustop is directly across the road and the Luas tram stop is around the corner.We pride ourselves in our friendly hospitality and comfortable surroundings. Why not stay and find out for yourself?We offer FREE secure car parking, and FREE WIFI for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Uppercross House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uppercross Hotel Rathmines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing