We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dublin delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Ranked #55 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 March 2012

What a great base for our long weekend in Dublin. This hotel were helpful in every way to us and the weather was kind enough to jump on an open top bus. The hotel served the best pint of Guinness in Dublin and the tall maybe Dutch maybe Belgium duty manager certainly made us feel welcome. If you also want the best bar in Dublin then find O'Sullivans Bar. It is in the centre but we found it the best true Irish experience. (Temple Bar area is more like Blackpool). Breakfast at the hotel was first class they even managed to get me the only English Times in Dublin to relax with too.

Room Tip: Bars across the street were open but not noisy so no problems
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank portmanrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenportgm, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear portmanrd,
Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your kind comments to the duty manager involved. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Kind regards,
Martin Dagger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,680)
There are newer reviews for O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,259 - 1,263 of 1,681 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

We have stayed at the Davenport the last 3 times in Dublin. Again we had great friendly service and fantastic food! Best location in the city, close to everything. Sylvia the waitress was extremely friendly, wonderful and one of the nicest waitresses! The front desk person Luchia remembers us every time we arrive and is a true pleasure. Highly recommend this hotel! Fantastic food in the President's Bar. Thank you for making our stay in Dublin delightful!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapeterson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenportgm, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear mapeterson25,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments.We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, I have passed your kind comments on to both staff members mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
With Kind Regards,
Martin Dagger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My family and I had a two night stay recently in Dublin. This hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to many of Dublin's sites. The rooms were nice sized, but nothing special, especially the "junior suite" - a room that wasn't much larger than a standard room. Furnishings seemed in need of an upgrade - Bathroom linens were worn - no shampoo or conditioner in two of the three rooms we rented. My bed was hard as a rock - really uncomfortable, but not much I can do about that. Service was just ok - the breakfast had good choices but the food tasted like it was hanging around too long - eggs were overly salty and not enough fruit was offered.

I did ask someone at the desk for a dinner recommendation - were there any places near the hotel that would accept a reservation? He said no, but recommended Foley's as an ideal place for dinner. Unfortunately, we had dinner at Foley's the previous night, and it was dreadful!! I figured he must've had friends working there, otherwise,why would he recommend a pub several blocks away, when there were two good pubs right next door?

The worst of all was having to pay for wifi - I had traveled through Ireland, stayed in many charming B&Bs with FREE wifi (even in Doolin!). I guess the hotel is geared towards soaking the business traveler on an expense account. Ironically, they advertise a business center, but don't have one.

Definitely not a 4 star quality hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speg75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We were well satisfied with our stay here. The breakfast buffet was included in our booking price and was very good. The room was not small by european standards, but smaller than the larger hotel we stayed in previously in Dublin. It was still quite large compared to those in London! The room was quite cozy and comfortable. The hotel was clean and very convenient for walking to the major attractions in Dublin. Lots of nice pubs and restaurants nearby as well as a short walk to St. Stephen's Green. Public transportation is quite good in the area also. Just a short ride to the Guiness Factory! This is a must see, even if you aren't crazy for Guiness!!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view...not sure if it mattered...as we couldn't see any other rooms...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LInda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Completely satisfied with the Davenport. Back room was quiet, comfortable, clean and reasonably roomy. Lacked nothing except free wi fi. Bathroom old fashioned, but plenty of space. Can't find a reason for complaint, with one exception. Don't eat the expensive and not appealing breakfast. Lots of better choices.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnetonkalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 km away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.1 km away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.5 km away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 150 in Dublin
3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,350 reviews
0.4 km away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,505 reviews
1.0 km away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: €142 - €278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing