We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed bugs but great location”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Townhouse
Ranked #99 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Denver
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Bed bugs but great location”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I stayed at The Townhouse last month for 4 nights. A friend recommended the place since she stayed there before.

The place is walking distance to shops, restaurants, Connolly rail station, and around the corner from an ATM machine. I walked around at night and felt safe. I took the Airlink bus to The Townhouse but took a taxi back to the airport since I had an early flight. The staff arranged for a taxi to pick me up in the morning. The staff was friendly and helpful when I asked about places to visit. There was free WIFI and a few computers. There was complimentary Irish breakfast in the morning so that was much appreciated.

The Townhouse is in a great location with friendly staff; however, I experienced bedbugs my first night. It was an unfortunate experience, and my friend felt really bad when I told her what happened. I had a room with two single beds on the 3rd floor. I went to sleep my first night and woke up an hour later feeling really itchy on my legs and arms. I turned on the lights, pulled off the covers, and saw two bedbugs! My immediate reaction was to squash them. I jumped out of bed and looked all over the bed and saw another one underneath my pillow. I brought the dead bugs in a tissue downstairs to the front desk and told the man what happened. He was surprised and said he had never heard of it happening before. He said the room will be closed off and an exterminator would be called in. I was moved to another room on the 2nd floor. I went back to get my things and looked at the second bed out of curiosity. There were bed bugs on that bed too! I was really shocked. Both beds! My second room didn’t have bedbugs. I pulled off the covers on the beds to make sure there weren’t any unwanted guests. I enjoyed my time in Dublin, although I was really itchy for the rest of my stay. I still have scabs on my legs and arms from the bedbug incident.

I cannot recommend this place to anyone based on my experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cooknsew105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    281
    123
    49
    38
See reviews for
88
209
78
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

The staff were incredibly friendly. Free wifi in lobby and in our room (we were close to lobby). The breakfast was very good. Love the location because it was just outside Temple Bar and right in the real dublin!

Room Tip: try to get near lobby to get free wireless in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShawnM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

The Townhouse is a bit shabby. It shares the facility with the Globetrotters' Hostel. They share the computer room and breakfast room until 10:30 pm.

The rooms are basic, nothing charming about them.. Unfortunately, we could not get Wifi in our room so had to use the computer room. Overheard lots of conversation from the hostelers.

The location and breakfast were both adequate. It is located amid several hostels, but it's easy enough to get around. Breakfast is a buffet.

This is not a place I would stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank streisand5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Golden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Our second night at the conveniently located Townhouse was a delight, our room set well back in the "courtyard" area of the facility, with modern conveniences and spacious bath. This was a far cry from our first night which was spend at the front of the hotel in a dark, cramped room 112, a miniscule bath and tiny shower enclosure and an ugly broken segment of shower base the first thing visible from the bedroom. The bathroom door barely cleared the bed.

After offering constructive remarks we were eventually moved by concierge Davis, a very friendly counter to our unfriendly welcome the day before.

Room Tip: Be sure to demand a room at the back with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bugsy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We came as a party of mature nurses on my hen weekend. There were 7 of us on the first night and 8 on the second which made the booking very complicated but the staff were wonderfully helpful and sorted it out at a very reasonable price. The rooms were clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of it. The staff were full of fun and joined in my celebrations. I would like to thank them all very much and warn them that we WILL return!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
O'Shea's Hotel
#86 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#85 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#97 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wynn's Hotel
#38 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Maple Hotel
#133 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: 47-48 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Dublin Townhouse
Townhouse Dublin
The Townhouse Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing