We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,877)
Filter reviews
4,877 results
Traveller rating
2,214
1,465
682
329
187
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,214
1,465
682
329
187
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lavery wing o'connell street toddy's bar taxi rank lovely hotel central location temple bar standard room airport bus lovely room following morning twin room trinity college evesham foyer ireland aircoach
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 4,877 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

For our trip to Dublin this hotel seemed great, it's location was perfect for us, and from what we had seen online it was a nice hotel with everything we needed, which helped make up for the fact that it's price was a bit more expensive than what we would have liked. We booked a non refundable room since we are in college and can not afford the extra money. We didn’t think it would be a problem because we were for sure going. The problem came when our flight to Dublin was canceled because the airport shut down due to storm Emma. They said it was impossible for us to get to Dublin because of their airport closing. They were able to book us a flight two days later to go to Dublin, which altered the days we would stay in a hotel. We called the hotel and they seemed understanding, telling use they could alter their policy and Change the nights we were staying and charged us an extra $270 for altering the accommodations. The next day our flight was cancelled again due to worsening conditions in Dublin. The airport was still closed and we had no way to get to Dublin and would miss our trip. We contacted the hotel again to see about any sort of refund on either our hotel room, or the extra $270 they charged us. The hotel claimed that they where unable to alter their policy and could not help us out, when just the day before they gladly altered their policy for their own benefit. They never responded to us which was a bit disheartening. So now, we have spent over $500 at a hotel we never went to. I understand that it is normally non refundable, but in this case where it was impossible for us to arrive due to their airport being closed, I feel as though they would be sympathetic towards the situation and at least give us a voucher to come back to see Dublin if not our money back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

It is disappointing to hear that you encountered inconveniences with your booking caused by the storm Emma.

We kindly encourage you to contact our Customer Service Department crm@riu.com in case of direct booking or your travel agency in case of external booking.

We sincerely hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to the city, and give us a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on 13th February and loved the hotel. The staff were friendly and welcoming and our room was clean and the bed comfortable. The location of the hotel makes it perfect for accessing the "Hop On-Hop Off" bus; the main shopping area is only a 5 minute walk away and the bus to and from the airport only a 3 minute walk. A 10 minute walk or so will take you to the River Liffey and between the hotel and the river there a lots of great bars and restaurants. The hotel breakfasts were wonderful - so much choice and as much as you wanted! I would have no hesitation in returning to stay in this hotel again or recommending it to anyone looking for a good quality hotel to stay in the centre of Dublin.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra15263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The Gresham reception area is stunning and made a good start to our 2 night visit to the hotel. The room was very comfortable, and having requested a low floor we were provided with one. There was a newly refurbished gym on the first floor which was well equipped and very quiet.

We didn't have breakfast here as it was €23 each, but the "pizza place", two doors down did an excellent breakfast for €9.50. Although we didn't drive, I did notice the car park was €17 per night.

We did have to wait until 3pm until our room was ready, not an issue as we went to the pleasant bar area whilst waiting.

The location is excellent, about 20 minutes from the airport and we were based in the centre of Dublin. A 5 minute walk to the temple bar area.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foster44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Yep one of the many that where stranded due to the weather, pleased to say though standards didn’t drop and prices stayed reasonable. As always staff are really helpful and really can’t do enough for you the new travel board in reception is great and easy to use. Location for tourists is as always ideal will stay again but will look at the long range forecast this time

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank MarkCosgrove62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

I would not recommend a stay here. One of the great Dublin landmarks has been turned into a shoestring budget half-hearted operation. Staff are poorly trained, un-conscientious and rude. Rooms are poor standard and dirty and items were removed from our room. When we complained we met with a distinct lack of interest and I could overhear staff insulting me in the background whilst on the phone. Numerous complaints by phone and email were not responded to in a satisfactory manner. So disappointing, can do far far better. Would not visit Riu hotel in the future - in my view a poor Spanish hotel group ruining a great Irish brand.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Felipe994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

We are committed to provide excellent quality of our products and services to our guests and for this reason we are very sorry to learn that you have left our hotel thinking otherwise.

Please be assured that we will share your impressions with the relevant department in line with the main goal to achieve the highest levels of customer satisfaction.

We sincerely hope that we will one day be able to welcome you back to our hotel and have a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews