We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, shame about the thin walls!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #62 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

Great location, nice spacious room. Staff on the front desk friendly and helpful. Easy to get to from the airport, 747 airlink express took no more than 30 each way & there’s stops (O’Connell St) both sides of the road virtually right outside the hotel!
Only gripe was is was so hard to sleep off the excess Guinness’ from the night before when you can hear everything going on in the next room!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

61 - 65 of 4,586 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

This was our first visit to Dublin and we made the right choice at The Gresham.

We arrived at the hotel around 10am to leave our luggage so was pleasantly surprised when we were told we could check in and after the swift check in procedure was informed that we had been given a complimentary upgrade. Greatly appreciated.

The room was lovely. Very large and extremely comfortable. As was the large bed. A great nights sleep on both nights after busy days.

The breakfasts were lovely. Top quality produce and the porridge is recommended....but I suspect it is made with cream and milk as it didn’t taste very slimming but it did taste bloody delicious. I took mine with honey.

We found the welcome extremely warm and the hospitality second to none.

We will definitely be returning to Dublin and definitely returning to The Gresham.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately I experienced unhelpful customer service and care. I have been in touch with their customer service centre and still no reply. I could not recommend this hotel. This is sad as I used to visit the premises frequently for drinks and lunch.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Breda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.

Regarding your concerns, if you have already contacted our Customer Service Department, please be assured that you will shortly receive a reply.

We really hope you will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves and to demonstrate the high standards of guest service and quality that are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

This hotel has a really good location, walking distance from Dublin´s downtown and it main attractions. The rooms (at least the one we had) are on the small side, but they are comfortable, clean and quiet.
You have to take your time in the morning to take advantage of the huge breakfast, they have almost anything you can wish for and the service is pretty fast.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you´re going to Dublin, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

Everything was perfect. I had a friend visiting & asked for a nice room to give her a good impression of Ireland. The room was superb. The staff especially at reception were great. Breakfast was good quality. I will be back.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 km away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#46 of 151 in Dublin
4,827 reviews
1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,794 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Dublin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#39 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: €141 - €319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing