We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice,, Expected better,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #55 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The Gresham Dublin has alot of history and is known by travellers around the world,, I was impressed when I arrived at the hotel its quiet a magnificent building, Reception were efficent and helpful,, service was what you would expect for a 4 star hotel,, however its my only criticism of the hotel and it is important i felt the room wasnt the cleaniest maybe houskeeping were having a off day,,however the room is where its at,, if you cant get that right then it leaves alot of questions to be answered,, overall i would go back

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arther R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,344)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,164 - 3,168 of 4,346 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

This last visit was the third time we have stayed. The staff are professional and attentive. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. The hotel is the last word in luxury. Our visit last October was a birthday celebration for my husband's sister and husband and the Gresham staff made it special with a personal message in their room.
We will definitely stay again and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I have just read the other reviews for this hotel and think I must have been staying somewhere else. But I've checked - it was definitely this one!

I was there for 3 days (2 nights) for work.The hotel I stayed in had very pleasant and friendly staff but was dirty, the shower in my room did not work, the temperature control in the room was non-existent. On the first day, the lobby stank of what I am guessing was fish. My colleague had brown water coming out of his taps (Apparently this is normal??).

We were there on a conference - if you are...word of warning.. while it is very nice to have biscuits and cakes at every tea break, a bit of fruit or herbal teas are non-existent.

Good thing - free wifi.

All in all - nice staff, crap rooms

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I love everything about this place - friendly staff, beautiful decor, comfort beyond your imagination - perfect location in the City Centre. I am a very happy girl once I check in to this marvellous hotel. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweetheart89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed here last week for 1 night an I loved it.it was on a main bit were there was shops and restraunts an you could walk to the town centre in about 15 minutes and see some sights on the way.we walked round it in a day.would well stay here again an it was a great price 2

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samba_is_crap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 km away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,568 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.6 km away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#37 of 150 in Dublin
2,867 reviews
1.3 km away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: €115 - €286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing