We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We considered ourselves lucky we walked out...”
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #23 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Co.Dublin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“We considered ourselves lucky we walked out...”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Tried to have the Carvery Lunch in Buswells Hotel today. When we arrived at the carvery counter at around half one it was deserted. A lady was buzzing in and out of the kitchen through the carvery area and was ignoring us. Several minutes passed no one appeared from the kitchen. Another lady behind was hailed with the same result: no reaction. A nearby small table was crowded with dirty cutlery: a lot in fact!

We talked about this later (over a nice enjoyable lunch nearby) and agreed that the Buswell display looked tired, cold, and unappetising. One serving dish was 90% empty and had not been replaced and no sign of heat emanated from the other dishes. The remains of the pork joint was small and the beef large, it looked burnt, and perhaps was not appealing to the diners.

Finally Lady Buzz was asked if someone might serve us and she snapped as us that she would deal with the issue when she had a minute. We looked at one another and left the area.


At the door I spoke with the gent at reception regarding the matter, but I got the impression since my face was to the exit door, he wasn't interested in what I had to say, or in getting a manager to speak with me.

Will we be back? No way whatsoever.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lazarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Good Afternoon Lazarian,

I would like to firstly apologise for the shortcomings that you experienced in your recent visit to Buswells Hotel. Please be assured that the comments that you have made will be dealt with in the appropriate manner.

Buswells prides itself on the high level of customer care and on this occasion we fell short. Should you wish to discuss your issues further please do not hesitate in contacting me directly at the hotel.

I sincerely hope that you do choose to visit with us again in the future as we would love the opportunity to renew your faith in us.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    535
    144
    34
    14
See reviews for
295
597
88
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Great example of Georgian style decor and architecture. Location is perfect for exploring Dublin on foot. Grafton street , Dublin Castle and Trinity College are practically around the corner. The rooms are small and tired. However, the bed is new including duvet style bedding. There is no air conditioning so if you need to open the window in your room it can be quite noisy from the street. Perhaps asking for a back room would correct this. We ate breakfast one morning at the hotel. However, I would recommend eating elsewhere... Better selection and cheaper. We ate at fixx coffee shop and carluccios which are right near the hotel. Also just make sure at check out to review the bill thoroughly. Both bills in the party had issues with being over charged when we had alresdy pre paid. Overall it suited our needs of wanting comfortable accommodation in the heart of Dublin.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doingstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear doingstuff,
Thank you for posting a review of Buswells Hotel following your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We will be looking into the issue raised regarding your payment and taking corrective actions where necessary.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to the Buswells Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRELAND
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Great hotel, in super location with a very reasonable price tag. It's a little old fashioned but I love it. My only concern was the left luggage seemed somewhat insecure ( I had a bag stolen from another hotel one time when I left my luggage in a similar set up so...once bitten twice shy I guess!!) However the lady at reception assured me that Buswells was the safest hotel in Dublin!! Being across from the Dáil probably helps! Great location, great price..I will stay here next time I'm in the big smoke!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FJNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
FJNM, thank you for taking the time to post your review of Buswells Hotel following your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. All comments are important to us as it enables us to improve on our product & service that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Buswells in the near future.
Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2012

his Place is one of the most welcoming classic hotels I have ever experienced. My room was very cozy and neat. I did not want to leave. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. They (especially Niki) were always happy to answer my questions about Dublin. I hope to stay again this year.

Room Tip: The sinle rooms are of good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Michael H, Many thanks for your review of Buswells Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to welcome you again in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Buswells for the six nations, from checking in early on friday
to the hotel looking after our luggage for a late flight on the sunday, nothing was a
problem for the very professional staff. Room spacious, clean & comfortable.
Bathroom spotless. Breakfast very good & bar area cosy. Location in a quite
side street short walk to shopping & bars. Overall a pleasent & enjoyable stay
highly recommended & when we return it will be the Buswells.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STEVAS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Stevas67, many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you to Buswells Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,266 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
3,338 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#29 of 151 in Dublin
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Property: Buswells Hotel
Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, BookAssist, HRS, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing