We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Dublin”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Worthy of five stars. Excellent location, staff and services. Friendly staff always looking out for your needs. Rooms comfortable and quiet. Pool and steam room relaxing. Easy walk to most Dublin destinations. Nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
Thank cheekygingerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the great review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

We are all delighted that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us and I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and that you have the time with us the enjoy the surroundings and facilities on offer here at The Merrion.

Yours sincerely,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 116 of 3,528 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed for four nights and the hotel exceeded our expectations. The room was large, clean, and very nicely furnished. The bed was extremely comfortable, as were the pillows and the comforter. The bathroom was nicely done in marble and had a stand alone tub and separate shower.
There is a lot of closet space, and plenty of amenities: safe, coffee maker, hair dryer, a well-stocked mini bar, and a good tv.
Room service was very quick, and all the staff were helpful and very friendly.
There is a nice indoor pool and steam room which was lovely at the end of a cool rainy day.
There is a Michelin two star restaurant on the premises, and it should not be missed!
The hotel is in the perfect location; St. Stephen’s Green, Grafton Street, The National Gallery, Trinity College and numerous restaurants and pubs are within easy walking distance.
We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank speedymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with the entire team. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

We did not originally receive the room types that we reserved, although on our return trip at the end of the week we did and were very happy. There was some miscommunication about where our American Express platinum credit could be used and the cellar restaurant is very small and crowded for a large family with children. We never even saw the Beautiful cellar bar which also has a restaurant menu and much larger Rooms to accommodate large, noisy groups Until our last night and we were told originally that our platinum credit did not apply there. That information was belatedly corrected but not in time to take advantage of it. Room service was fabulous, and the rooms were comfortable and large. The continental breakfast at the cellar restaurant was OK, although they have a fabulous granola. Even ordering off the menu we never really found a breakfast option that we thoroughly enjoyed. Dinner was pleasant, but forgettable. For the most part, service was good.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
Thank Shannon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

I won't even consider another hotel.The experience and service are simply too good. While the hotel rate is high, the value is great. Service and support match the needs and focus of serious travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
Thank robertmF3261EN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you and we are delighted that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

I can't say enough about the Merrion Hotel. The service was outstanding, the location excellent and every person in the hotel could not have been more helpful. The rooms were pristine and quite comfortable. One night we decided to have food and drinks in the bar and it was all Very Good!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jillv458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,649 reviews
4.2 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,240 reviews
0.7 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
1.2 km away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 km away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: €231 - €662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing