We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, lived up to expectations and more!”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2012

So normally, when something is reviewed well, I tend to be disapointed after all the anitcipation. This was not the case with the Merrion.

After staying at other 5 star hotels while travelling in Ireland, this was by far, the best one.

The best: the staff were amazing and not stuffy as others had been at other hotels. They were very friendly and helpful. Not once did I feel out of the place. The room was fantastic. The slippers were so comfortable and the turn down service was really nice. The bed and pillows are fabulous. The attention to detail was evident. We ordered room service breakfast two mornings in a row and it was out of this world. So much food and good and hot. The coffee was the best I had in our travels. The bathroom had a seperate bath and shower, and had towel warmers. I did not spend much time in the commom areas but they seemed clean and nice. The consierge was spot on and recommended a wonderful restaurant not far away.

The good: The cellar bar had good pints. The food was just ok and the menu fairly limiting. The sheets were good but I have slept in better ones.

The Merrion is just miles ahead of other 5 star hotels, not just in Ireland but in North America as well. Probably my favourite I have ever stayed in. If i win the lottery, I would be here on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shynk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Dear shynk,

Many thanks for the wonderful and comprehensive review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about all aspects of your stay here at The Merrion. It is very satisfying for all the team here when we read comments like yours; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,571 - 2,575 of 3,485 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels in Dublin and this one is by far the best!!!
The hotel is located very central and just few steps from the famous and animated Graffton street. Furthermore the hotel is just 2 mins walk from the Stephen's Green Park.

My room was very big, with a balcony and the view in the gardens.

We had a brunch and one dinner at the hotel and it was delicious.

The service at the hotel is beyond good.

The communal areas are extremely cosy and the hotel is full of pieces of art.

If you want to have a chic and memorable stay in Dublin please stay at the Merrion!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Malvina31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Dear Malvina31,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The Merrion is still the best hotel in Dublin in my view and it was very busy on Saturday so its proving very popular in difficult times in Ireland. We were upgraded to the main house which is where I would recommend staying if you have the option. The rooms are bigger with nice high ceilings. The room is great but my only problem was I couldn’t find any toothpaste in the room. The breakfast was really good but I have had better in five star hotels. The service is great and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The Merrion will always be my first choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house, its a bit of a walk to the spa but much better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tieler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear tieler,

Many thanks for the absolutely wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about the team here at The Merrion. I must say we get a great “buzz” when we read comments like yours; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. We are honoured that The Merrion continues to be your hotel of choice when you visit Dublin and I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

They fall over themselves to take care of you.
Great location but be careful about walking distances. Truly excellent and engaged staff. Nice pampering touches worth of the pricey rate. A tad stuffy in the common areas. Terrific bathroom and room comforts. Breakfast pricey but plenty of local pubs.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CWoodford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear CWoodford,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about the team here at The Merrion. I must say it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did and thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post it; we all greatly appreciate it.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Myself and my fiancée were given a gift of a Blue Book voucher recently which we decided to redeem at the Merrion Hotel Saturday 13 Oct 2012.
We arrived to a pleasant reception, and were guided to our room (134) by a member of staff.
We had booked a standard queen room and were quite surprised to find a cot, amongst other baby paraphernalia (most unromantic) taking up a large section of our rather small room.
We requested that the cot be removed and after about 10 minutes a porter arrived to take the cot away, but not before first asking (repeatedly) are we sure we didn't order a cot. After a prolonged discussion about our lack of cot requirements he finally accepted that we had not ordered it and dragged the cot rather unceremoniously out of the room. With the cot gone we had the chance to view the room properly for the 1st time....and found it to be underwhelming to the extent that it appears more like a 2/3 star rather that the luxurious 5 star we had been looking forward to. The decor was old and dated, the lamps shades hung haphazardly on the lamps (attention to detail not a strong point) the clock radio did not function at all. The room and the corridor leading to the room were decorated very poorly (again like something out a 2 star), there was absolutely nothing about the room that indicated luxury, class or sophistication....it was in fact a complete and utter disappointment,,,,not worth a €100 let alone the €250 they charge for the room. The telephone had telecom eireann written across it which gives you an idea of when the room was last renovated.
The next morning following breakfast, which was adequate (there was a good selection, however the bread and cheese was certainly not fresh) we returned to our room and placed the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door and perhaps naively assumed from there that we would not be disturbed. However this was not the case. Within 20 mins (approximately an hour before check-out) there was particularly aggressive knocking on the door, which I answered. A porter rather rudely asked to be let in to check the mini bar. Out of absolute shock I let him in, however I must say I have never before experienced this treatment in any hotel, let alone one claiming to be a 5 star. The usual treatment being where on check-out you would be asked did you use the mini-bar facilities (which we didn't in any case). I found the treatment invasive, unnecessary and frankly unprofessional...again something I would not expect to experience in a true 5 star hotel.

Overall it was a very disappointing experience and not only would I not recommend the hotel but I will be actively encouraging colleagues and friends to steer clear of the place. MOST DISAPPOINTING.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear Eric N,

Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to speak with me earlier and I am genuinely sorry that your experience was not as it should have been. Clearly we made some very basic errors which I accept full responsibility for. I am however pleased that we will have the opportunity of restoring your faith in The Merrion at a future date.

If I can be of any further assistance in the meantime please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,565 reviews
0.2 km away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.7 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,190 reviews
2.5 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,682 reviews
0.5 km away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: €244 - €632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing