We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cellar Restaurant, Merrion Hotel Dublin”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Fabulous dining experience in the Cellar Restaurant, Merrion Hotel, Dublin. First time in the restaurant for lunch to day 7th June 2012. The Cellar is in a great location and part of the Merrion Hotel. The staff were really friendly, helpful, and attentive. The food was lovely and the wine complimented the lunch very nicely. The price was reasonable and we would hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank unigis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear unigis1,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your experience at the Cellar Restaurant and I have shared them with both the Restaurant and Kitchen teams and they say a very big “thank you” as well.

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,684 - 2,688 of 3,489 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

We booked the Merrion after seeing it rated as #1 on Trip Advisor. It was a fortunate choice. The hotel website shows a room rate which is fairly high, but then, if you scroll down, you can find offers for room plus breakfast and dinner for only an additional 20 Euros. Too good to pass up.
Everything at the Merrion is absolutely first class from the friendly reception, to the beautiful rooms, the indoor pool and the outstanding food and drink. Everyone on staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. I'm not sure when we're returning to Dublin, but when we do, the Merrion will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garyverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear Garyverde,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I have stayed a number at times at The Merrion over the past ten years and am always without exception, hugely impressed by the staff and management of this hotel. Nothing is ever too much trouble and the sense of welcome is second to none.
The product itself is exceptionnal and reminds me of the Hotel Bristol in Paris, another outstanding hotel. The art in the hotel is nothing short of breathtaking and the time and effort put into the design and attention to detail is what putsthis hotel above the rest in Dublin.
We had rooms service breakfast, which has to be the best way to start a weekend morning.Wed did not eat in the restaurant this time round, but I have to say that I have never had anything other than a great experience there and in the Cellar Bar, one of the most amospehric places to enjoy a pint of the black stuff. well done to all at the Merrion and Thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear Denis M,

Many thanks for the absolutely wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about the team here at The Merrion. I must say we get a great “buzz” when we read comments like yours; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. We are honoured that The Merrion continues to be your hotel of choice when you visit Dublin and I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

great atmosphere,attentive staff,open fire and great food.

Room Tip: book early and ask to be by the fire
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VintageVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear VintageVida,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed here last night as a treat for my wife as it was her birthday. I had booked a queen size room and when we arrived we were up graded to an executive suite which was fantastic, the staff are all professional and friendly and have a very high standard of hospitality,the location is in the middle of Dublin so its very easy to get around to the sights of this beautiful city, When we got back to the hotel in the afternoon we had a lovely suprise waiting in our room a complimentry bottle of champane and choclate on a plate with happy birthday written on the plate for my wife, we were delighted and very impressed and would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat. We had dinner in the Cellar restaurant and it was so tasty and plentiful and again the staff were fantastic, It is brilliant hotel and well worth the money so go on and spoil yourself in this gem of a hotel you wont be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tipperarymartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear Tipperarymartin,

Many thanks for the absolutely fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments. I am delighted that your wife’s birthday was an enjoyable and memorable occasion.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again and may I take this opportunity to wish your wife a belated “Happy Birthday” from everybody here. Perhaps we can entice you to come back for your next special occasion!

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,567 reviews
0.2 km away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.7 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,193 reviews
2.5 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,685 reviews
0.5 km away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: €242 - €632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing