We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea at the Merrion - A great afternoon”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I have had afternoon tea at the Merrion on 2 separate occasions this year and each time thoroughly enjoyed the day. The service is exceptional - you do not have to even look for your tea to be topped up! It comes in 2 courses - a tray of sandwiches, cakes, scones, madeira cake etc first and then the 2nd course is the dessert based on the art work of the hotel. Please leave room for the 2nd course as it is divine!! A lovely treat for someone as a gift too

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dream2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Dream2Live,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of all of my colleagues in our Drawing Rooms and in the Kitchen, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys the Art Afternoon Tea experience as much as you did. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,784 - 2,788 of 3,569 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

Staying at the Merrion Hotel in Dublin was like visiting a rich aunt and being pampered by family retainers! The staff were more than helpful in arranging limo pickup at the airport and a private tour of the city. The public rooms of the hotel have a comfortable understated elegance and the service is superb. Our room was spacious and well appointed. The location is within walking distance of Grafton Street for shopping and restaurants. Truly a five-star experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Carol M,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed in the Merrion Hotel for a special birthday last weekend. Beautiful hotel, attentive staff, the hotel is extremely well presented, with gorgeous design and a lot of character too!

The location of the hotel is wonderful, all the main attractions and Graton Street are within easy walking distance.

I will definitely come back again; everyone in the hotel seems to work very hard to make guests happy! The complementary bottle of champagne was wonderful. Thank you to everyone there who made my birthday remarkable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cupcake05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Cupcake05,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. I am particularly delighted to hear that we added to the enjoyment of your birthday and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I just want to give a shout out to Clare, a member of the Merrion Hotel's concierge team! I can't wait to meet her when we arrive next month. My husband and I want to visit Newgrange and the Hill of Tara on a Saturday morning while our kids are arriving from the states and getting settled. Clare helped me with lots of suggestions on how to do this-group tour, renting a car, public transportation...we finally settled on renting a care for 1/2 day and driving ourselves. She set up the car rental and is having the car delivered to the hotel and we'll return it to the hotel when we're finished with our little trip. She has been amazing and has made me feel so special and important. She was quick to respond to my requests and emails. I haven't stayed at The Merrion yet, but I'm really looking forward to our experience. If it's anything like the service from Clare, I'll be writing another 5 star review! It's just nice to see someone go above and beyond when asked the simplest questions. I feel so well taken care of and I can't wait to meet Clare in person when we arrive. I'm really impressed!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Jennifer L,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us to date and your lovely comments about my colleague Clare in our Concierge Department.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Merrion in the coming weeks and do let us know if we can be of any further assistance with your trip in advance.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The Art Tea, an innovative and creative take on the traditional afternoon tea was a most enjoyable experience and a treat to both the eyes and the palate!

With two courses presented (1 extra since the last time I had afternoon tea), the enjoyment was endless. The array of hand crafted cakes, breads, delicate sandwiches and mini scones (my favourite) were followed later with a plate of what could only be described as 'edible art'.

The desserts were explained to us in detail by the pastry chef himself (Paul Kelly), who paid us a visit and explained how they were representations of some of the paintings housed at The Merrion.My guest and myself thought this was a lovely touch. Mini versions of the paintings were cleverly displayed on the table when we walked in, the connection to The Art Tea was a delightful surprise.

Altogether it was a very relaxed afternoon, full of surprises and delight. It was a true indulgence but I reckon we all deserve this once in a while!

Room Tip: Ask for Table 3, it is right by the fire and really comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NBHDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear NBHDublin,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of all of my colleagues in our Drawing Rooms and in the Kitchen, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys the Art Tea experience as much as you did.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 152 in Dublin
3,709 reviews
4.2 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,302 reviews
0.7 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 152 in Dublin
4,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
1.2 km away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 km away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#7 of 152 in Dublin
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: €244 - €678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing