We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,340)
Filter reviews
2,340 results
Traveller rating
1,064
799
259
111
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,064
799
259
111
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre ivy house croke park close to the airport dublin airport bus stop executive room bar food reception staff family room lovely hotel hotel bar reception area visiting dublin o'connell street buses taxi
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 2,340 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Really nice hotel, great location. Easy access to and from city centre and airport. Rooms good size and everything you need in the room. Would highly recommend and would chose this location next time in Dublin :)

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank K6362MQmarkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubSkylonHotel, General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Dear Mark G

We really appreciate your kind review. Thanks for the recommendation and when you next return we will treat you to our Afternoon Tea in the Lobby. It is rather nice!

Kind regards

Shane
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Hammering and drilling in the room next door at 8 am. Workmen replacing windows at the front of the hotel. So much for our relaxing break. Apart from this, staff were very friendly and our room was ok although you do need to clean the large hairball out of the shower drain.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank mmcc445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubSkylonHotel, General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Dear Mmcc445

I apologise that you were disturbed by the recent work - entirely my fault as you should have not had a room near the work. As you can see we are a friendly bunch and now have lovely new windows so it would be a shame to miss out on the Skylon experience. Drop me an e-mail when you are next returning to Dublin and I will personally look after your stay and make it very special

Kind regards

Shane
GM
smcgavock@dublinskylonhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

The kindness and warmth of the staff was truly outstanding, from the moment I arrived until the moment we departed. Their instructions and recommendations were clear and useful, and their patience was remarkable.

The lobby of the hotel was tremendously inviting and comfortable. The wifi signal was great, so I spent quite some time there, enjoying the ambiance and flow of other travelers.

The room was adequate, but a bit underwhelming. My colleague and I found it to be a bit chilly and the radiator didn't really do much to change that, although we tinkered with it a bit. We both found the beds to be comfortable and inviting, but were surprised to be able to hear our neighbors pretty clearly at various points in our stay, particularly when folks were in the hallway.

We did appreciate the coffee and tea kit that was provided, although the tea kettle was a bit grotty. The shower was beautifully hot and strong, which helped take the chill out of the room a bit.

We appreciated the location, convenient to the Marino Institute (about a 15 minute walk). Also, the public bus transportation was just steps from the front door of the hotel, which made sightseeing and other adventures very simple, as well. Additionally, the hotel is relatively close to the airport, making arrival and departure pretty seamless.

Overall, we had a nice stay, and offer thanks to the staff for their kind service.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubSkylonHotel, General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Dear Anita B

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We would love to have you back as any negatives from your last stay we can resolve. I am delighted that the team looked after you well and I can be contacted directly at any time to look after your future bookings

Kind regards

Shane
GM
smcgavock@dublinskylonhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed here during a weekend for the rugby, a friend booked one night in a standard room for us but I decided to book an additional night and went for a better room. The hotel gave us the better room for both nights without additional charge. Car park is ample and check in and out both simple with no issues. The room was very warm so if you struggle with heat then switch off the radiator, our 2nd nights sleep was much better for doing this. Free coffee and crisps in the room, we didn’t have breakfast as we slept on longer but there are bars and shops around to get food if need be. The bus is across the road and the reception staff told us the cost (€2.85) and suggested this over a taxi due to cost.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Meander736385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubSkylonHotel, General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Dear Guest

Thank-you so much for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back in the future

Kind regards

Shane
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel however needs some work done. Not a lot of parking space. Man working in the car park was lovely and very accommodating. Reception desk staff were not as welcoming. Reasonably priced. Quite far out of the city. About 10-12 Euro taxi back from the city centre. Food in the restaurant is lovely, as are the waiting/bar staff. Bathroom lights did not switch on unless main room lights were on. Quite inconvenient during the night when other person is sleeping. Quite noise in room also due to work being done. Complimentary bottle of water and crisps for each guest which was a nice touch. Would try out this hotel again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank daniellemF3077MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews