We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Def Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Ranked #37 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Skylon recently and were impressed to see that this hotel had improved alot. We had stayed here previously about 5/6 years ago and at that stage felt the hotel was in need of a revamp. There was a big improvement in our bedroom and the overall ambiance of the hotel has improved.
We dined in the Restaurant and had a lovely meal, the Restaurant still has a lovely traditional atmosphere which I am glad to see didn't get wiped out in the renovations.All of the staff throughout the hotel were extremely helpful. As my husband is a past pupuil of St. Pats Teacher Training College located near by we had a vey enjoyable amble down memory lane after our dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,498 - 1,502 of 1,980 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

I'm just back from a two night break at the Dublin Skylon Hotel, I booked an executive room. Check in staff were extremely helpful and attentive. The room was very clean and tidy, the executive rooms are located at the back of the hotel which is set back from the main road just outside the hotel. Breakfast was nice and the staff were also very helpful in the breakfast room. The hotel is located north of the city not too far from the airport and the city centre, I travelled from N.Ireland and used the car park provided by the hotel at a cost of €10 for two days. I decided to use public transport at a cost of €1.90 (one way) into and out of the city centre, a taxi back from Temple Bar cost aprox €13.
I would defiantly go go back to this hotel when I visit Dublin again in the future.  

Room Tip: Book a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kieran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

we got there at 7 45 am , should of booked in at 3pm ,they let us have ours room soon as we got there ,,very good and very good breakfast

Room Tip: any room ,all very nice had a good look round
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moore33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I stay in this hotel regular as i often attend a college close by on selected weekends throughout the year. I have stayed 2 out of 5 weekends so far, and on both visits so far, each and every one of the staff members were all extremely helpful and friendly. The location is ideal as all hallows college is only a short walk (actually quicker to walk then drive). The rooms are very clean and have all I need for a study weekend, the bar and resturant are clean and have a friendly family orientated atmostphere. Would certainly recommend this hotel to any type of visitors, i look forward to my next visits in this hotel and encourage the staff to keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We spent 3 nights at this hotel (Dec. 26 - Dec. 29, 11) and really loved the place. The hotel staff members were very courteous and helpful. We reached there before 6:00 am the day after Christmas - and our check-in was not due till noon. But, they gave us a nice room right away. When we complained about the hot water in the bathtub - they gave us another room within an hour. Yes, it is not too close to the City Center and Grafton Street or O'Connell Street shopping centers, but, there were frequent bus service right infront of the hotel.

Room Tip: Talk to the front desk people. They are very helping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShefaKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,609 reviews
2.3 km away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#44 of 150 in Dublin
4,621 reviews
4.8 km away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.7 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4,618 reviews
3.9 km away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 150 in Dublin
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin Skylon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Skylon Hotel

Address: 27 Upper Drumcondra Road, Dublin D09 V1Y2, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dublin Skylon Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#28 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#32 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#42 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: €77 - €198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dublin Skylon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, luxurious hotel with free Wi-Fi throughout. The hotel is located ten minutes from Dublin International Airport and five minutes from Dublin City Centre. Croke Park Stadium is within walking distance. The Skylon Bar & Grill serves breakfast from 7.00am to 10.30 am. And you can discover the many delicious menu options at The Skylon Bar & Grill, one of the tastiest restaurants near Dublin City Centre. All our menus come with a suggestion of wines from around the world, a selection of craft beers and our extensive cocktail menu.Guests at the Skylon Hotel can expect the very best of Irish hospitality. Check in is after 2pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dublin Skylon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylon Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing