We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“15 day Ireland tour”
Review of Hilltoptreks

Hilltoptreks
Ranked #23 of 100 Outdoor Activities in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy great guided walks throughout Ireland with qualified, knowledgeable and fun guides. Ireland is a walkers paradise and walking is a great way to really see this country.
Reviewed 23 May 2017

The trip was an amazing way to see the country - a good combination of activity, site seeing, history, good food and friends. The tour guides were knowledgeable and so helpful when we had to make some alternate arrangements at the end of the trip. We really can't say enough about the experience we had and we will recommend Hilltoptreks to others who would like to experience an active trip through Ireland

Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopTerry, Owner at Hilltoptreks, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Hi Ruth,

Thank you very much for the great review and I hope all is well with you and Hugh....
It was lovely to show you about this beautiful little island (compared to Canada) and you were great company to have on all the walks.

Terry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Hilltoptreks
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2017

We just finished our tour with Hilltop Treks with Noel and Terry today.
We had a fabulous time! Both were great hiking guides, provided good history lessons along the way to us Canadians, wonderful folklore stories, good music and a few songs were sung to us as well. Knowledgeable and entertaining for sure! As well, Terry was very helpful to members of our group who needed to cut their trip short due to a family situation back home. Loved, loved this trip!

Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopTerry, Owner at Hilltoptreks, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Thank you Marie for the great review and it was a pleasure to guide you all for the few days. Hopefully you have all made it home safely now and Joe is starting on that Harp.....

Slán agus Beabnnacht,

God Bless from Terry and Noel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

I did your day tour of Wicklow and Glendalough.

Good things:
The guide was nice and explained to us the stories behind the sites we visited.
The guide took us to a nice restaurant for lunch and informed in advance the staff of our arrival. So, the service was quick and we had some tables reserved for us.
The guide took the touristic road on the way to Glendalough.

Less good things:
It is a tour of Glendalough, and yet we spent at Glendalough les than an hour!!! Impossible to see anything there in less than an hour. The tour should be renamed because it is definitely not a tour of Glendalough. It was just a secondary stop.

We didn't visit the famous waterfall!! It's one of the most important things to see!
If the tour had started earlier and finished later we would have had enough time to visit everything very calmly, instead of hurrying from one place to another all the day.

I was not aware that the gardens ticket was not included in the tour ticket. I discovered that when we parked at the gardens entrance. The gardens ticket should be included because the tour ticket is already expensive enough.

It was supposed to be a walking tour. There was no walking at all. We had no time for that. Except the little walk we did to visit the gardens, which was basicly visiting not walking.

Finally, and again, we didn't have enough time to see anything at Glendalough. That's frustrating!

To conclude, the overall experience was deceiving. Unfortunately, I wouldn't recommend this tour.

Thank Layachi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopTerry, Owner at Hilltoptreks, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Hi,
I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our tour.
The tour is called a Day Tour of Wicklow which includes Glendalough as well as many other places such as the National Park, Sally Gap, Lough Tay, Guinness Lake PS I Love you bridge and options of a guided walk, horse riding or visit the Powerscourt Gardens.

If you don't select the guided walk or horse riding then the guide would think you wanted to visit the Gardens and it states very clearly that the reduced entrance fee is not included in your ticket. I don't think that €25 or €28 for a full day tour guided is very expensive.

Again I appreciate your feedback and will try to use this to improve our tour.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Our day in the Wicklow mountains was fantastic with our guide. However the administration was appalling. A confusing booking system led to us missing our trip because we got the wrong pickup point. Dara at the office was rude, aggressive and blaming when I queried the confusion. These guys need some customer care training! However the trip the next day (which we did manage to book) was fantastic and we wouldn't have missed our trip to Powerscourt, Glendalough, and the Wicklow mountains with our excellent guide, a geneologist. A rich day out covers a lot.

Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Our guide Johnny was knowledgeable and entertaining. In the morning, some of the group (including my wife) went on an enjoyable horseback ride from a quaint old family stable just a little bit outside of Dublin. The rest of us were taken on a 3-mile hike through fields and glens, past farms and streams, and finally to the remains of a "hidden church." We also got to stop and feed some horses! BTW, it's called a "walk" in the brochure, but don't be fooled--there are some long, steep hills involved and lots of climbing over stiles. Some of the folks in our group had some trouble keeping up--I'd describe it as "somewhat strenuous." In the afternoon, we drove to the Wicklow National Park for some beautiful scenery, stopping to see Guinness Lake, the Peace Center at Glencree, and finally Glendalough, where we saw the remains of the monastery. We lucked out with beautiful weather. Highly recommended.

Thank RescueBot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hilltoptreks also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Hilltoptreks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing