We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Claudia P

Good from afar, but far from good!

Review of The Fleet
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Put Ireland on your bucket list. Three of us drove along the coasts of Ireland and Northern Ireland to play some of the finest golf courses in Europe. After undergoing knee surgery, one of us came just for the fun and skipped the golf. The Irish people are welcoming, delightful, helpful, and a joy to engage in conversation. The country is stunning, and the cuisine delicious. Gone are the days of boiled gray meat and potatoes! The country is breathtakingly beautiful. (FYI - Dublin traffic is horrible with lots of one-way streets and road construction, typical of large cities. If you’re driving, it will take you longer than you anticipate, so plan accordingly.)

We ended our two+ weeks in Ireland in Dublin with several days at the Fleet Hotel.

What Is Good --
1. Convenient location. The Fleet is a solid choice if your focus is a hotel close to the fun in the Temple Bar district and walking distance to most Dublin attractions. 
2. The lobby is beautifully decorated, warm and inviting.

What’s Not So Good --
1. Not every room has air conditioning, so if you're interested in having this feature, carefully check the website. Since the Elegance Double Rooms include air conditioning, we reserved two of them.
2. We did not experience the same hospitality and helpful nature throughout our travels in Ireland at the Fleet. Reviews of the staff we’ve read were glowing, but for us, the staff was not up to par and communication was difficult.
3. When we pulled up in front of the hotel, there was no bellman to guide us, so we started unloading our luggage. What we thought was a bellman finally showed up. He was actually a security guard and he tells us we needed to reverse our car back down the one-way street and park on the opposite side. Keep in mind this was at night, and there were a ton of people walking in the street. One of us stayed with the luggage we were able to unload before having to move the car and got us checked in. Two of us headed to an offsite parking garage some distance away, a garage where the entrance and exit are in two different places. It’s so much fun trying to find your bearings when you’re unfamiliar with an area, do not have GPS, and your shlepping golf clubs. Not!
4. The rooms. We booked two Elegance Double Rooms. They are advertised as being larger and some have window shutters and fireplaces. We didn’t have any of these features. Our rooms were small and maneuvering around golf clubs and luggage was a challenge. The rooms felt as if they were converted attic space. The bedrooms only window is small and stares out upon ugly rooftops riddled with machinery. You would think the bathrooms of the Elegance Double Rooms would be comparable. They are not. One is large with a dressing table, ghost chair, soaking tub and a lovely separate shower. There is a tiny bathroom with only a shower in the other room. For the same price, this simply is not right. Perhaps we got the worst rooms because we arrived around 8:00p. BTW, keep in mind the European king bed is about the size of a queen.

What Is Absolutely Horrible --
The elevator only goes to the third floor, even though our rooms are on the fourth. Not ideal, but you think it’s doable—that is, until you have to walk to your room. Imagine this. We had two large sets of golf clubs in oversized golf travel bags the size of a human, three suitcases, three backpacks, a carry-on bag and a few shopping bags of purchases made along the way. There are numerous hallways and corridors to negotiate once you exit the third-floor elevator. Moreover, there are five flights of stairs—well, technically four flights plus a short flight of three steps—that go up to the rooms. There are multiple closed fire doors that need to be opened. Do you think anyone has a spare hand to open a door? Nope. This is not just a small annoyance. It is a disaster, especially so for our guy with the new knee. There is no mention of this on the Fleet Hotel website. If you’re a weight-lifting triathlete this might be just fine for you. If you’re like the rest of us, you’re going to need that air conditioning when you finally get to your room.

Bottom Line:
1. While it’s probably not realistic for the Fleet Hotel to take on an extensive renovation project to remove the quirky maze of corridors and have elevators go to all floors, they most certainly can be forthcoming with these shortfalls and disclose them on their website, they can improve their hospitality, have a greeter at the front door to offer assistance, streamline the check in procedure and educate the staff in customer service.
2. If all you want is a hotel located close to the fun in Temple Bar area, the Fleet Hotel will serve you well. If you expect customary hotel service, an elevator that goes to your floor, and value for your dollar, look elsewhere.
Date of stay: June 2024
Room Tip: Do not accept a room above the third floor.
Trip type: Travelled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keenan Wynne, Other at The Fleet, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear T46Hclaudiap

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Fleet.

We are sorry to read that not everything was to your satisfaction, you are right that not all rooms have air conditioning your chosen rooms did. I'm sorry you feel you didn't experience the same hospitality as you did on your travels. This is something we are very proud of as you had read on previous reviews.

Porter service is available at all times but unfortunately he may have been busy at your time of arrival. Luggage storage is also provided should you have you chosen to leave you golf clubs with the reception team. The Fleet is located on a one way street and the car park is 100m away and yes there is one entrance and one main exit but on the same street just a short walk from hotel.

The elegance room do differ in size with all the interior rooms having bigger bathrooms and smaller bedrooms compared to the front facing rooms bigger bedrooms smaller bathrooms, This is down to the fact of the age and the history of the building and preservation order on them. Being a city centre hotel unfortunately does mean views from some of the window are of surrounding buildings, Fire doors are there to ensure guest safety but we understand challenging when carrying bags.

Unfortunately installation of a second lift is not possible but we will ensure to provide luggage service and hope that more guests will accept this when offered as we are aware how challenging this can be.

Location is Key and the Fleet is the perfect location, customer service is also key and something we are very passionate about and we feel this is given to all guest of the Fleet as seen in many of our review like you mentioned. We do have some challenges at the Fleet but some of these challenges also add to its charm.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Fleet in the future.


This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
€327
€229
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    €249
  • Hotels.com
    €249
  • travelup.com
    €266
0.6 km from The Fleet
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
€270
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    €270
  • Vio.com
    €247
  • Hotels.com
    €270
0.8 km from The Fleet
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior TL DCC
€213
€156
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    €169
  • Hotels.com
    €169
  • travelup.com
    €213
0.5 km from The Fleet
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€157
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    €174
  • Vio.com
    €139
  • Hotels.com
    €150
0.7 km from The Fleet
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€190
  • Expedia.com
    €195
  • Vio.com
    €159
  • Official Site
    €185
0.7 km from The Fleet
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€230
Fully refundable
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
2.7 km from The Fleet
Free Wifi
Free parking
€229
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    €229
  • Agoda.com
    €208
  • Expedia.com
    €229
4.1 km from The Fleet
Free Wifi
Free parking
€132
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    €160
  • Agoda.com
    €130
  • Hotels.com
    €160
1.5 km from The Fleet
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€108
  • Expedia.com
    €107
  • Vio.com
    €102
  • Hotels.com
    €108
1.6 km from The Fleet
Free Wifi
€154
€128
  • Expedia.com
    €154
  • Hotels.com
    €129
  • Vio.com
    €139
3.0 km from The Fleet
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Dublin
Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveller rating
397
149
54
33
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
397
149
54
33
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews temple bar elegance room great location beautiful lobby beautiful hotel breakfast room is central location lounge area bars and restaurants recommend this hotel buffet style one night stay long weekend rooms are small hotel staff dublin castle street noise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 656 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very central hotel, very clean. Staff really friendly and helpful. Will definitely be coming back to this hotel. Rooms have everything you would need for your break away from home. Ate in the restaurant food very good. Breakfast was brilliant, set you up for the day.

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keenan Wynne, Other at The Fleet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear1terryh

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Fleet hotel.

We are delighted to read that everything was to your satisfaction & That you have already decided that the Fleet will be your go to hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

We look forward to welcoming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this very pleasant and relaxed hotel again recently for a concert nearby.

Had some drinks on arrival, then had some dinner at the bar. Both of which were very enjoyable. Went for breakfast the next morning, lots of healthy options, gluten free, freshly orfered poached eggs etc. Cannot fault a thing.

Bedrooms are lovely and refurbished, esp the bathrooms.

Every member of staff was extremely welcoming, helpful & pleasant. Thanks guys, you made our stay very enjoyable. See you soon.

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank davidmF1136LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keenan Wynne, Other at The Fleet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear davidmF1136LD

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Fleet hotel.

We are delighted to read that everything was to your satisfaction in both rooms and restaurants.

I will be sure to share your lovely comments with all the Team, We hope to welcome you back to the Fleet in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff and service were excellent, the hotel was clean and tidy. Conveniently located in the centre of Dublin a short walk from the airport coach stops. Allowed to leave our baggage before check-in and and after check out was really very useful. Next trip to Dublin we will certainly stay at The Fleet!

Room tip: The hotel was great, there is some noise at night but only to be expected if you want to stay in the centre of Dublin.
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keenan Wynne, Other at The Fleet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear colinwE8199NQ

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Fleet hotel.

We are delighted to read everything to your recent was to your satisfaction and that both location and staff played such a positive part in your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the Fleet in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful old hotel in Temple Bar. Lovely room and great breakfast, but the winner was the staff. I was quite ill, having gotten a nasty flu. Yuri, a wonderful staff member, leapt to my aid, went and got meds at the chemist for me and did it all with a smile. Each and every person was thoughtful and caring and I will definitely return to this lovely and gracious old hotel.

Room tip: Be sure an plan in advance to score a room at this hotel.
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marypatricia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keenan Wynne, Other at The Fleet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

marypatricia2

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Fleet hotel.

We are delighted to read that everything was to your satisfaction and that the Team played such a positive part in your stay. I do hope your illness dint ruin your visit to Dublin,

I will be sure to share your lovely comments with everyone and especially Yuri.

We hope to welcome you back to the Fleet in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay at The Fleet. The room was clean and spacious enough for all our luggage. Plus, the bed was super comfortable. The location of this hotel can't be beat - it's walking distance to everything you want to see in Dublin, plus many excellent pubs. I would highly recommend this hotel, especially if you're planning on enjoying the night life in Dublin.

Room tip: If you have heavy luggage, ask for a room near the elevator. There might be small flights of stairs that you need to go up/down otherwise.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florenciaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keenan Wynne, Other at The Fleet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear florenicaba

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Fleet hotel.

We are delighted to read that everything was to your satisfaction.
Location is key and the Fleet is the perfect choice stay and experience was everything Dublin has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back to the Fleet in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews