We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! ”
Review of Annie Mays

Annie Mays
Ranked #856 of 2,982 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: US$4 - US$48
Description: The new beating heart of Newcastle has opened it’s doors. We think it’s about time to hear the tales once told at this once loved bar and to let the banter and craic regain it’s pride of place in the local that everybody loves. Delicious home cooked food from the modern open kitchen. Annie May’s will be offering an array of wholesome lunch, afternoon and dinner options.
Restaurant details
Description: The new beating heart of Newcastle has opened it’s doors. We think it’s about time to hear the tales once told at this once loved bar and to let the banter and craic regain it’s pride of place in the local that everybody loves. Delicious home cooked food from the modern open kitchen. Annie May’s will be offering an array of wholesome lunch, afternoon and dinner options.
Reviewed 3 August 2022 via mobile

We've been visiting Annie May's since it opened. It's always been a really nice place to visit for dinner or a drink, in particular the staff have always been very friendly and professional. They are head and shoulders above their colleagues in Rathcoole.

The thing that always niggled me was that every time we'd eat, there'd be something not quite right. Usually small details like reheated chips or a reconstructed dish that pretended to be cooked to order.

This evening was completely different. Everything was perfect.

We had Haddock & Chips with pea puree and Duck Fillet with parsnip puree, dauphinoise and spiced carrots.

It was flawless.

The crew in the kitchen really have it together and know what they're doing.

Amy at front of house runs the show with aplomb. Well done to the whole team.

Other pubs and restaurants locally and in the LF group take note!

Date of visit: August 2022
1  Thank discoD4256II
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2022 via mobile

Visited today for some food. Staff were lovely, food was good. We sat outside so staff mentioned to us 3 times that we would have to pre pay which was fine but diverted them from hospitality so it ruined the mood. Maybe instead put this policy on the menu, or include on signage in the outdoor area, this will let the lovely staff get on with their job and ease anxiety all round.

Date of visit: July 2022
Thank bridgetk977
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 July 2022

My family and I held a funeral reception in Annie Mays on Thursday 14th July. It is a lovely venue. Anne and her team where very welcoming, friendly and attentive and the food served was delicious. It was my first time visiting Annie May's but it certainly will not be my last. Big thank you to Anne and all the staff at Annie May's for looking after us so well on what was a very difficult day. It was very much appreciated.

Date of visit: July 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 48sarahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 July 2022

4 of us one in Wheelchair one on crutches.
Hostess very friendly and pleasant.
waiting staff attentive.
Food excellent
will be going back

Date of visit: July 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 711ruthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 June 2022 via mobile

Second visit in the last while, food was top class and the young lad who looked after our group was a lovely pleasant fella

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank NorthStar34701045741
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Annie Mays also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Annie Mays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.