We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Party in Pifko” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pifko

Pifko
Ranked #517 of 2,529 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$18
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, Central European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hearty Czech food and craft beers in Dublin, Ireland
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Party in Pifko”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016

I have been to Pifko many times since it opened in Dublin and have never been disappointed with anything they offer including brunch, lunch, dinner, and especially the excellent selection of of Czech/Slovak beers and spirits. I retired recently and decided to have my retirement party there on a Friday evening. There were 40+ people at the party over the course of the evening and we were ideally accommodated within the main bar/restaurant area with seating for everyone. I had been in contact with Igor Menšik, the manager, by phone and email no more than a week and a half before the party, and I was able to organise everything with him very efficiently in the run-up. He recommended that I order eight Czech platters for the group comprising different pork dishes with typical accompaniments of pickles, gherkins, sauerkraut, traditional breads, horseradish and mustard. These turned out to be a real meat feast and everyone was thoroughly satisfied with the quality and tastes. On the evening itself, Igor wasn't there but Michael behind the bar organised everything with exemplary efficiency.

This was an important event for me, my family, friends and former colleagues and Pifko didn't let me down in any respect in having a really excellent bash.

  • Visited November 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Odysseus-Penelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czechrock, Owner at Pifko, responded to this review, 27 November 2016
Thank you for your review and positive coment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    30
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Czech Fare on Ushers Quay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2016

What a pleasant surprise! I've been to the Czech Republic many times and I love their food and beers. This pub on Ushers Quay also shows live football on multiple screens. First the beers: a good collection of Czech beers, well kept and well served. The food is typical Czech home cooking with food that sticks to your ribs. I ordered roast duck with dumplings and red cabbage. The duck was a little dry but otherwise very tasty. I'm not over-fond of potato dumplings, which I find very heavy, so bread dumplings would have been a lighter offering. Still, a touch of Czech cuisine in the heart of Dublin was a pleasant surprise.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank JJ_Orlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czechrock, Owner at Pifko, responded to this review, 27 November 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Stopped in because we had to pee.... Stayed for a pitcher of beer, staff friendly and good atmosphere.... Food was odd, we didn't order.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czechrock, Owner at Pifko, responded to this review, 27 November 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Is a litlle place with good atmosphere and is not so busy,nice warm furniture and fire place,good selection of drinks and specials from Czech Republic,staff litlle be around of the place,nice food but portion small for that price.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Vicia1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czechrock, Owner at Pifko, responded to this review, 27 November 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna Region, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Check the Czech background!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2016

On our way back from Phoenix Park we found this Restaurant/Pub accidentally. it's on the quay of river Liffey near Guiness Storehouse. The menu ist a nice mixture of Irish and Czech dishes as like as the beers. We ate the "Special" for lunch - Vegetable soup, roast beef with excellent gravy and dumplings - very good. Note: Draught Pilsner beer!

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank 543ernstp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czechrock, Owner at Pifko, responded to this review, 27 November 2016
Thank you for positive review and recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pifko also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Pifko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing