We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party in Pifko”
Review of Pifko

Pifko
Ranked #587 of 2,699 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Hearty Czech food and craft beers in Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 20 November 2016

I have been to Pifko many times since it opened in Dublin and have never been disappointed with anything they offer including brunch, lunch, dinner, and especially the excellent selection of of Czech/Slovak beers and spirits. I retired recently and decided to have my retirement party there on a Friday evening. There were 40+ people at the party over the course of the evening and we were ideally accommodated within the main bar/restaurant area with seating for everyone. I had been in contact with Igor Menšik, the manager, by phone and email no more than a week and a half before the party, and I was able to organise everything with him very efficiently in the run-up. He recommended that I order eight Czech platters for the group comprising different pork dishes with typical accompaniments of pickles, gherkins, sauerkraut, traditional breads, horseradish and mustard. These turned out to be a real meat feast and everyone was thoroughly satisfied with the quality and tastes. On the evening itself, Igor wasn't there but Michael behind the bar organised everything with exemplary efficiency.

This was an important event for me, my family, friends and former colleagues and Pifko didn't let me down in any respect in having a really excellent bash.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Odysseus-Penelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czechrock, Owner at Pifko, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2016

Thank you for your review and positive coment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2016

What a pleasant surprise! I've been to the Czech Republic many times and I love their food and beers. This pub on Ushers Quay also shows live football on multiple screens. First the beers: a good collection of Czech beers, well kept and well served. The food is typical Czech home cooking with food that sticks to your ribs. I ordered roast duck with dumplings and red cabbage. The duck was a little dry but otherwise very tasty. I'm not over-fond of potato dumplings, which I find very heavy, so bread dumplings would have been a lighter offering. Still, a touch of Czech cuisine in the heart of Dublin was a pleasant surprise.

Thank JJ_Orlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czechrock, Owner at Pifko, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Stopped in because we had to pee.... Stayed for a pitcher of beer, staff friendly and good atmosphere.... Food was odd, we didn't order.

Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czechrock, Owner at Pifko, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Is a litlle place with good atmosphere and is not so busy,nice warm furniture and fire place,good selection of drinks and specials from Czech Republic,staff litlle be around of the place,nice food but portion small for that price.

Thank Vicia1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czechrock, Owner at Pifko, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

On our way back from Phoenix Park we found this Restaurant/Pub accidentally. it's on the quay of river Liffey near Guiness Storehouse. The menu ist a nice mixture of Irish and Czech dishes as like as the beers. We ate the "Special" for lunch - Vegetable soup, roast beef with excellent gravy and dumplings - very good. Note: Draught Pilsner beer!

Thank 543ernstp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czechrock, Owner at Pifko, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2016

Thank you for positive review and recommendation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pifko also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Pifko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing