We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff and value for money.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harding Hotel
Ranked #26 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff and value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I have just booked again to stay in the Harding Hotel. I previously stayed during the Take That concert weekend and found the accommodation to be of a good standard and certainly for the price charged. The hotel is very convenient to the Temple Bar area and all the bars and restaurants you could wish for. It is also close to many of Dublin's attractions and the main shopping area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MH-Derry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear MH-Derry,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Harding Hotel after your stay with us in 2011 - I am extemely happy that you are staying with us again when visiting Dublin city in 2012.

I was delighted to hear that you felt the value and the standard of the Harding Hotel that you received in terms of it's facilities, the bedrooms, the staff and our location to all that you might want to see and do, all made the Harding Hotel your automatic choice when looking for accommodation in Dublin.

We will be hoping to look after you as well as before and hope to see you soon. The Harding Hotel staff all take pride and passion in what they do and I know it is always appreciated when they can hear back that their efforts are welcomed.

With best regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    968
    191
    44
    16
See reviews for
261
777
334
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stayed for 2 days between Christmas and New Year. In summary, this hotel is well located and offers adequate accommodation for the price paid, although I would not stay here again due to various issues highlighted below:

Pro's
Decent location - close to Temple Bar area, close to transport links etc
Reasonable price for B&B
Some rooms were spacious
Friendly, helpful reception staff, easy check in

Con's
Room for one was very small and faced entrance to next door's hostel kitchen
No individual control over room temperature - room was so hot I didn't sleep much at all
Room facilities OK (tea/coffee), but basic bathroom and rooms in dire need of updating (furniture, radiator falling off wall, curtains broken, windows mucky, old carpets etc)
Breakfast was not as good quality as I've had elsewhere (although service was good)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank argerich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Dear argerich1,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Harding hotel after your recent stay while visiting Dublin.

I was disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy the hotel as much as you, and indeed all the staff here at Harding Hotel, would have hoped you would.

All room radiators have a simple twist control to control the heat flow - should this have been faulty we would have been happy to repair and resolve the issue and even provide fans if necessary.

I'm sorry that you felt the room decor and facilities were not to standard and we will certainly investigate and replace anything broken, damaged or worn. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.

Thankfully I was glad to see that you found the hotel's location and staff to be in keeping with your expectations and that you were able to avail of the easy transport links to and from the airport while enjoying the fact that we are only a few minutes walk from the majority of tourist attractions in the city centre.

Should you wish to contact me directly on info@hardinghotel.ie to discuss any matters further or to see if we can hopefully arrange a better stay for you to convert your opinion of the Harding Hotel, please feel to email at your convenience.

With best regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Flew in from London and after staying in a room the size of a walk-in closet it was a relief to see such a large room. It was clean and airy. Great view of the cathedral across the street. Convenient to hop on hop off bus as well as airport bus, both less than a block from hotel, yea. Walking to Temple Bar was safe and convenient without staying too close to all the noise. This was my first trip to Dublin and I cant wait to return. The restaurant was the only bad thing about this hotel. Not that the food was bad its just that the restaurant was the most boring and empty place in all of Dublin. The staff was helpful and friendly and I will most likely stay here again on my next visit to Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommyharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Dear tommyharris1814,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Harding Hotel after your stay with us during 2011.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed the view of the Cathedral from your room, that you found the Harding Hotel's location to be so central to the major shopping, cultural and tourist areas of the city centre and that the standard and value of the service was to your expectations.

The changes in the "Airlink 747" bus route have made access for hotel guests to/from the airport even easier as you have pointed out, and the value of this bus route compared to taxi's etc. is excellent.
We are very happy to have the stops so close to the hotel for our guests easy use and the very regular timetable throughout the day.

We would very much love to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and I trust that we can offer you another comparable high standard of service, comfort and value.

With best regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

The Harding Hotel was a great choice for our first time in Dublin. It is close to everything that a tourist would want to see, But....the bells from Christchuch were very annoying.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mastertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Dear Mastertoo,

Thank you for the review you posted after your recent stay with the Harding Hotel while visiting Dublin city centre.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be ideally situated for easy exploring of Dublin city centre.
We are very passionate about delivering standards of care and service to our guests so that they find the hotel a perfect base to begin to discover Dublin and indeed the rest of Ireland.

While some guests do find the bells from Christchurch a bit annoying at times, there are as many guests who find them charming and perfectly apt for the hotel's location in the Old City part of Dublin.
We would much rather have the Cathedral beside us than to not have it at all and therefore not have the bells, as the expression goes - to see a rainbow you first must put up with some rain.
So for all the charm that you get from the Cathedral right beside the hotel there is a small distraction with the bells but it is a pay-off that the majority of guests appreciate.

I hope that we may have the opportunity to accommodate you again should you return to Dublin and should you prefer a room away from the Cathedral we can try to allocate you a room at the rear of the hotel - away from the street facing the Cathedral.

Regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

I have reviewed this place before, but I stayed again this past weekend, and just wanted to give some other information.

First, I really like the place - for Dublin, I find it a nice value for the money. It is directly across from Christchurch Cathedral, so a bit away from the pandemonium of Temple Bar, but only a short walk if you want to go out for the evening.

My bed was extremely comfortable, the shower worked well. The only drawback was that the lighting in the room is not very bright, and the light over the bathroom mirror did not work. So shaving was a bit tricky.

One important note... the bus route for the Dublin Bus 747 Airlink service has changed since I last visited. The new stop is even closer to the hotel - coming from the airport, use stop 10 for Christchurch Cathedral. When you exit the bus, cross the street and continue to head in the direction of the bus. At the end of the block is the Copper Alley Bistro, which is housed in the hotel. Make a right turn at the corner, and you will see the entrance to the Harding.

One work of caution - if you are here on a weekend, the ground floor bar can be noisy - I had a room on the 4th floor this time and did not hear a thing (except for the bells of Christchurch).

In summary, I have stayed here several times when visiting Dublin, and I find it to be a good value hotel within walking distance of everything.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor to avoid the noise from the bar in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobby_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Dear Bobby_I,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Harding hotel after your recent stay with us when visiting Dublin.

I was delighted that the standards and facilities that you encountered upon your last visit were maintained and we have met your expectations upon this visit.

Thank you for bringing the lighting matter to our attention, we will certainly look into getting brighter versions of the long life bulbs we use in the rooms.

I hope that we may be able to accommodate you again in the coming months and continue to offer you the standards and value that you have come to expect.

With best regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harding Hotel

Property: Harding Hotel
Address: Copper Alley Fishamble Street | Christchurch, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Dublin
#29 Family Hotel in Dublin
#37 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Harding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harding Hotel is a red bricked, traditional property located between the fashionable and lively Temple Bar and the old city areas of Dublin City, suiting both the leisure and business traveler, with comfortable 3 star quality rooms and facilities, coupled with a warm, welcoming, friendly service.Our spacious rooms are decorated in warm and relaxing tones, some offering views of the cathedral and are equipped with TV, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and fridge. Our comfortable beds, fresh linen and towels all serviced daily, will ensure that you just have to relax and enjoy the city when staying at the Harding. So why not come and sample the warm welcome, the excellent location, the spacious rooms and see for yourself how easy life in the city can be when staying in the Harding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Harding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harding Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing