We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,215)
Filter reviews
1,215 results
Traveller rating
372
495
221
81
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
495
221
81
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews merrion square trinity college oscars bar great location oscar wilde national gallery temple bar sister hotel within walking distance hop on hop off bus stop city centre rooms are small water pressure would stay again twin room breakfast room street noise
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,215 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Recently spent two nights in the O'Callaghan Mont Clare. Ideal for the walk to work on Stephens Green. Quiet enough location in August. Very nice reception area and the check in staff were most helpful.

Was put in a room on the 5th floor, upon entering the room the size was noticable. It was one of the smallest hotel rooms I've stayed in, not helped by the fact I was up on the top of the building so the slanted roof probably made it feel smaller than it was.

The room itself had a tired feel to it, the bathroom, while very clean, could do with an upgrade. The shower tray and tiles had seen better days and the shower sliding door was off it's hinges and broken but did slide closed and prevented most of the water coming out onto the bathroom floor.

I would go back to this hotel for a one night stay for the location but it wouldn't be one of my first choices next time I'm back up in Dublin

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Conor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Whilst on a recent family trip to Ireland we stayed at the Mont Clare Hotel in Dublin. We were very impressed with the location of the Mont Clare which was close to the centre of the city. It was within easy walking distance to a number of traditional pubs, convenient stores and eating places which dotted the streetscape not very far from our accommodation. The hotel was clean and well appointed. Our rooms were very spacious and included a two-seater lounge, dinning setting and a very comfortable bed. We also enjoyed the air conditioning as the weather was extremely hot for Ireland at that time of the year. The staff at the hotel were very professional and only too willing to assist us in anyway they could, specifically with some tour support.
We dined at the hotel and were impresed with the friendly service and the quality of the food.
The foyer of the hotel is a great feature, with its furnishings and wood panelling. It was a pleasure to sit and enjoy the unique ambience of the hotel.
Overall, an extremely pleasant experience.

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

I though the cost was on the dear side. The staff were efficient and the room, although small even by European standards, was clean and beds comfortable. The Restaurant / Bar food was nice but the choice was limited. the breakfast was good with a choice of hot and cold food.
The secure parking is about 500m away in Fenian Street. There is an area in front of the hotel which has double yellow lines but you can park to allow you to unload cases, book in, get the code and directions to the car park.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MINIPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

The Montclare has an excellent location on Merrion square within walking distance of Trinity College, Grafton Street and a slightly long walk to Temple Bar. The hop on hop off bus stop is across the street.
We arrived from NY at 6am. Our room was not ready. We were given coffee while the front desk attendant put a rush in getting the room prepared. We were able to occupy the room at 10am for a much needed sleep. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable.
Breakfast for a fee was good, so was the food at the restaurant downstairs.
Note that there aren't restaurants close to the hotel, so we walked all the way to Temple Bar where there were many many restaurants.
Staff were very courteous and helpful.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: Ask for a room away from the street. Hotel is on Merrion Square which is very well located but very busy.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night. Hotel conveintly located in central Dublin and reasonably priced. Staff was helpful. Breakfast was included and was excellent. It was buffet style, but plenty to eat and drink. The room was clean although dated. The lobby is lovely, but the rooms and floors need updating.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank fee1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews