We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great St Patrick's Day Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sussex

The Sussex
Ranked #21 of 2,529 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$33
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great St Patrick's Day Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We ate here last night and given it was St Patrick's Day and the final weekend of the Rugby 6 Nation's we expected it to be busy. We were not wrong but the food and the service did not suffer at all. The service was relaxed and there was no mention of a time limit on the table. The food was wonderful and very convenient being only 2 minutes from the Clayton Hotel where we were staying. We would definitely eat here again.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank BaileyStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    137
    20
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
reading
Level Contributor
148 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, service and foos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Met up with some friends for an early supper. From booking to eating the attention was great,
Lovely table slightly elevated and in the corner.

The menu appears quite simple but the food is far from it.

Attention and interaction with staff is great.

Worth the visit.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank pandtReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Local Flare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff, good selection on the menu
I had the Shepherds Pie. Would definitely return and recommend to friends.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great evening!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went on Saturday night as a party of four . We had pre dinner drinks in the bar downstairs OBriens , lovely cosy atmosphere in a traditional pub . We had a window table in the restaurant and the room was full . We had a mix of staters including smokies , calamari & beautiful homemade brown bread . For mains we had fillet steaks & pasta with clams . The food was amazing & our service was friendly & efficient. We ended up going back downstairs to O Briens for a few night caps !! We will be back !!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Alandunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly & attentive service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice little restaurant located above O'Briens pub. My friend and I went her on Friday evening as we wanted to watch the Irish rugby match downstairs afterwards. We just had a main course each. I had the burger with chorizo and fries and she had fish and chips. The food was good, not amazing and probably a little overpriced; burger was 17.95 I think. her fish was 18.95. Woud I go back? Not in a rush.

  • Visited March 2017
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sussex also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Sussex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing