We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant, service and foos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sussex

The Sussex
Ranked #22 of 2,527 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$32
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
reading
Level Contributor
148 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, service and foos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Met up with some friends for an early supper. From booking to eating the attention was great,
Lovely table slightly elevated and in the corner.

The menu appears quite simple but the food is far from it.

Attention and interaction with staff is great.

Worth the visit.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank pandtReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    137
    20
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Local Flare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Friendly staff, good selection on the menu
I had the Shepherds Pie. Would definitely return and recommend to friends.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great evening!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went on Saturday night as a party of four . We had pre dinner drinks in the bar downstairs OBriens , lovely cosy atmosphere in a traditional pub . We had a window table in the restaurant and the room was full . We had a mix of staters including smokies , calamari & beautiful homemade brown bread . For mains we had fillet steaks & pasta with clams . The food was amazing & our service was friendly & efficient. We ended up going back downstairs to O Briens for a few night caps !! We will be back !!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Alandunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly & attentive service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice little restaurant located above O'Briens pub. My friend and I went her on Friday evening as we wanted to watch the Irish rugby match downstairs afterwards. We just had a main course each. I had the burger with chorizo and fries and she had fish and chips. The food was good, not amazing and probably a little overpriced; burger was 17.95 I think. her fish was 18.95. Woud I go back? Not in a rush.

  • Visited March 2017
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“An evening dominated by reminders that we had to be off the table by 9pm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First visit to the Sussex and, as the title of this review says, the pressure on staff to get people fed and out for the next sitting appeared to be huge.

When we arrived and gave our names, we were told we had to be off the table at 9.

We were shown to our table and given our menus and told once again that we only had the table until 9pm.

We ordered our starter, which arrived pretty much immediately, which I found a bit off-putting. Fried goat's cheese, which was nice and chicken wings, which were really average.

Whilst eating our starters, our waiter checked at least 3 times if we'd finished them. Starters were cleared, main course arrived instantly. We both had fish and chips. They were fine, batter was on the over-cooked side or it could be that it was left to keep warm for too long as the pace with which we ate our starters didn't match the kitchen timings hence the constant checking by the waiter when we were eating our starters!

At 8.54pm, we were presented with the bill and told once again that we had to be off the table at 9pm.

At 9.03pm, we were approached by a manager (I assume) and very aggressively told that there were people waiting for the table and that we had been told when we booked that we only had the table until 9pm.

It was a rugby weekend so it was busy obviously.

So overall it wasn't a good experience. The food was fine but nothing to single it from the many other Dublin restaurants offering the same dishes.

Our waiter was really nice but clearly he was under pressure from the manager to ensure we were off the table by 9pm and that was the recurring theme of the evening.

  • Visited February 2017
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GranardDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sussex also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Sussex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing