We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and value for the money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albany House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albany House
Ranked #65 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and value for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

My husband and I spent our first 4 nights in Ireland at the Albany House and I was very pleased. Rick Steves describes it well as having a great location and no fuss, no muss. I was pleased with the room, the breakfast was great, the location terrific, and the staff friendly. We stayed at the Wynn's at the end of our time in Dublin and weren't nearly as happy with that as we were with Albany House.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crayon2299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    361
    141
    50
    15
See reviews for
106
362
51
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
270 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Plus: Nice room and friendly staff, very good location, price was ok.

Minus: Our room was on 4th floor, no sign of a lift...not sure if I missed it?
Also, breakfast only served until 9.30am on Sunday morning which is pretty bad, particularly after a late night out.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donalmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Lovely old Georgian bldg. just off St. Stephens Green in a quiet and safe area. We stayed in a ground floor triple, which was large, comfortable, and very clean. Staff was very helpful. Continental breakfast was delicious, with a great selection of fresh breads, fruit, cheeses, and cereals. Perfect location - minutes from Grafton Street shopping district, museums, parks, Trinity College, and bus stop. The room was a bit dark for my taste, but perfectly clean and comfortable. Lobby shows some wear, but loved its character. The room and bathroom seems to have been recently refurbished.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We recently had a quick trip to Ireland. We spent 2 nights at The Albany House and 2 nights on the west coast. I really liked Albany House. The location was perfect which was very important to us. The inn is just past St Stephen's Green walking away from the pedestian center of town. It was a very pleasant, safe walk. We had a family room as it was my husband, myself and our 27 year old daughter. The room was very large as was the bathroom. We were on the main floor of the inn. The breakfast was just perfect...there was a large table with cereals, breads, fresh cut fruit salad, yogurt and stewed prunes to choose from. Then the staff would bring tea and coffee and toast to your table. The breakfast room was very nice too! The only drawback was that there is no parking available (which they told me in advance) at the inn. We rented a car the second day and had to park one night. It's a little tricky parking on the street, you need to pay the meters (they have no change at the inn), but if you park later at night, it doesn't take much to leave the car all night. You certainly don't need a car in Dublin (we were driving to the west coast the following day). I had read lots of reviews on Trip Advisor and compared costs. I chose The Albany House because I felt it was a good value and a good location. We were pleased! And we loved Dublin.....charming city!!!

Room Tip: we loved our main floor location in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleGalSeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

We had a triple room for our family. We were originally scheduled to stay 2 nights but were delayed by one day due to weather. The hotel was unable to refund the missed night but did offer a reduced price if we wanted to stay longer. The room and bathroom were both fairly spacious and clean. The hotel is showing a little wear and tear but it is in an older building so that was to be expected. It was an easy walk to attractions (St Stephen's Green / Temple Bar area) and we felt very safe. We had heard that it could get noisy and so asked for a room at the back. This worked well as we did not hear any outside noise. The continental breakfast was just that - a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evagem94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#90 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harrington Hall
#84 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
The Dean
#68 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany House

Property: Albany House
Address: Albany House 84 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Dublin
#66 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany House 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Albany House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany House Hotel Dublin
Albany Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing