We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of James Joyce Cultural Centre

James Joyce Cultural Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$52.69*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
Ranked #122 of 498 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This cultural center promotes the study of Joyce's work and is housed in a beautiful 18th-century Georgian mansion.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fascinating ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Must see for all Joyce devotees & those wanting more "flesh on the bones" of one of Ireland's literary heroes. Fascinating, evocative & atmospheric. Wonderful murals + memorabilia. One visit not enough so, as we're in Dub each November.......!

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    41
    16
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Joyce walking tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

I took the "Dubliners" tour, which was a bit short (i.e. I wanted more of it!) but anyhow covered some of the key things: Belvedere College, The Boarding House, Two Gallants, The Dead, etc. The guide provided some of her own perspective about the author and his works, which I thought was much more interesting than factual information.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Aurora_TV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
192 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“No Finnegans Wake Present Here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2016

Well I'might a big James Joyce fan, and this museum is great. Sad note is that there is nowhere any information to be found in the museum.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank theTimeTravellersBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dubliners tour is a true dubliner's experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Guys. I'll be honest. I'm a huge Joyce fan, so they literally would have had to have been really awful tour guides or personnel to get much less than a five star review. But that being said, I truly enjoyed my experience here. My advice: come with the intention to discover Joyce in a way you never have before. Take the time. Do the walking tour. Go through the exhibit, read all the things, watch all the videos and interact with all of the computer screens. I am truly thankful a center like the JJCC exists. I will definitely be back for another tour whenever I can make it back to this fantastic city.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank asholza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
160 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Required visiting for Joyce fans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2016

Even those not total fans can get a lot out of this museum. My husband, who hasn't read Joyce, was fascinated by many of the videos, quotes, interactive material. For us fans, the Centre is even more moving. Seeing Joyce's room and the door of #7 Eccles St - those alone brought us great joy.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank RomeTheSecondTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed James Joyce Cultural Centre also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to James Joyce Cultural Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing