We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Required visiting for Joyce fans” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of James Joyce Cultural Centre

James Joyce Cultural Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$52.69*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
Ranked #122 of 499 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This cultural center promotes the study of Joyce's work and is housed in a beautiful 18th-century Georgian mansion.
New York
Level Contributor
160 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Required visiting for Joyce fans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2016

Even those not total fans can get a lot out of this museum. My husband, who hasn't read Joyce, was fascinated by many of the videos, quotes, interactive material. For us fans, the Centre is even more moving. Seeing Joyce's room and the door of #7 Eccles St - those alone brought us great joy.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank RomeTheSecondTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    41
    16
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A bloomllike experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2016

As we wandered the streets of Dublin seeking out the Joyce Centre with ony half an address and an insufficient map we thought of Leopold Bloom on his more exciitng journey. There was no Molly for us to encounter but thankfully a slip of a lass steered us in the right direction. I’m glad we didn’t give up as the Joyce Centre was worth the visit. Three short films give some background and interesting takes on Joyce and his legacy for literature in Ireland, a reconstruction of his small bedroom foucsses the mind and interactive media allows you to explore favourite or unknown passages from Ulysses. Located in a restored Georgian house close to Joyce’s Alma Mater, this understated centre leads the visitorinto aspects of Joyce’s world and some of the people wh played an importnat part in his life. If you have restricted mobility the climb to the top floor may be a challenge. And if you want to copy Joyce’s sartorial style, you can buy a straw boater.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The entrance fee is quite steep for what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016

I'm a fan of Joyce so wanted to find out some new things, learn a little more about his writing and generally was expecting this centre to be similar to the Roald Dahl Museum in Buckinghamshire...it wasn't. The building is charming and there are some good displays but there wasn't anything of particular interest or note. We took the audio guide which stretched the visit out to 20 minutes but other than the cool little courtyard at the back with the M&S door, there wasn't anything which delighted, entertained or excited me. Good to get out of the rain but only if you can afford it.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank macscooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“James Joyce fans must visit ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

I didn't know James Joyce until I went to the this cultural centre. Good to know a famous Irish writer about his life and his works. Recommend for those who like literature.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank WY_KWAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freilassing, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

A wonderful exhibition about the life of James Joyce- and Ulyssis-on 3 floors. Highly recommended to literature loving people.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank moonflower66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed James Joyce Cultural Centre also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to James Joyce Cultural Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing