We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Required visiting for Joyce fans”

James Joyce Cultural Centre
Ranked #24 of 207 Shopping in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The James Joyce Cultural Centre, situated in a stunning Georgian townhouse, offers the visitor historical and biographical information about James Joyce and his influence in literature. See the door to the famous No 7 Eccles Street from “Ulysses”, a recreation of his living quarters, art exhibitions and more to bring the author and his works to life. With the help of audio guides, interactive displays and knowledgeable walking tour guides, you will discover a piece of the literary history of Dublin. Our walking tours appeal to visitors with a casual interest and Joycean experts alike while our shop has a great selection of books by and on Joyce as well as other Joycean memorabilia. We run monthly evening lectures between September and June. You can also book a private walking tour. Only the ground floor of the Centre is wheelchair-accessible.
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Even those not total fans can get a lot out of this museum. My husband, who hasn't read Joyce, was fascinated by many of the videos, quotes, interactive material. For us fans, the Centre is even more moving. Seeing Joyce's room and the door of #7 Eccles St - those alone brought us great joy.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank RomeTheSecondTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"his life"
in 9 reviews
"cultural center"
in 4 reviews
"georgian building"
in 4 reviews
"top floor"
in 9 reviews
"walking tour"
in 9 reviews
"actual door"
in 2 reviews
"short documentary"
in 2 reviews
"great background"
in 2 reviews
"admission fee"
in 2 reviews
"small museum"
in 2 reviews
"interesting place"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 4 reviews
"o'connell street"
in 2 reviews
"on display"
in 2 reviews
"trinity college"
in 2 reviews
"eccles"
in 11 reviews
"literary"
in 12 reviews
Filter

29 - 33 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2016

As we wandered the streets of Dublin seeking out the Joyce Centre with ony half an address and an insufficient map we thought of Leopold Bloom on his more exciitng journey. There was no Molly for us to encounter but thankfully a slip of a lass steered us in the right direction. I’m glad we didn’t give up as the Joyce Centre was worth the visit. Three short films give some background and interesting takes on Joyce and his legacy for literature in Ireland, a reconstruction of his small bedroom foucsses the mind and interactive media allows you to explore favourite or unknown passages from Ulysses. Located in a restored Georgian house close to Joyce’s Alma Mater, this understated centre leads the visitorinto aspects of Joyce’s world and some of the people wh played an importnat part in his life. If you have restricted mobility the climb to the top floor may be a challenge. And if you want to copy Joyce’s sartorial style, you can buy a straw boater.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

I'm a fan of Joyce so wanted to find out some new things, learn a little more about his writing and generally was expecting this centre to be similar to the Roald Dahl Museum in Buckinghamshire...it wasn't. The building is charming and there are some good displays but there wasn't anything of particular interest or note. We took the audio guide which stretched the visit out to 20 minutes but other than the cool little courtyard at the back with the M&S door, there wasn't anything which delighted, entertained or excited me. Good to get out of the rain but only if you can afford it.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank macscooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

I didn't know James Joyce until I went to the this cultural centre. Good to know a famous Irish writer about his life and his works. Recommend for those who like literature.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank WY_KWAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

A wonderful exhibition about the life of James Joyce- and Ulyssis-on 3 floors. Highly recommended to literature loving people.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank moonflower66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed James Joyce Cultural Centre also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to James Joyce Cultural Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing