We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveller rating
93
151
125
53
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
151
125
53
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews temple bar great location provide ear plugs great bar trinity college dublin castle top floor bars and restaurants the heart of the city full irish breakfast gig rugby ireland
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 479 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2018

LIke really, its near the temple bar area and is surrounded by a bunch of drinking places that would be usually crouded by people that wont let you sleep easily.
The breakfast options are poor - you will only have to choose 1 dish from the menue.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Myraubatyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

If you want to be in the middle of everything, stay at the Mercantile. You are in walking distance of everything, food and drink everywhere and within the sites.

The Airlink drops off and picks up very close to the hotel. And that was one of the reasons we chose to stay here. Not being familiar with Dublin, we wanted to be somewhere that was easy to get our bearings quickly.

We arrived at the hotel around 11:00 a.m. The woman working the front desk was great and found us a room that we could get into. We had been flying all night and being able to take a nap and freshen up was certainly greatly appreciated.

The room was small and that didn't bother us. We weren't going to Ireland to hang out in the room, it was just a place to sleep. The room was nice and clean.

We knew from reviews that we would not have air conditioning and that being in the Temple Bar area, we would have the outside noise - so we weren't surprised. We needed the window open to get that cool from the outside - and with that came a lot of outside noise. There was music, yelling, sirens, street sweepers and more. I am not complaining - we knew this was going to happen and we brought ear plugs so that we could block it out as much as possible.

The one thing that the Mercantile has is amazing and wonderful staff. They were always willing to answer our questions and help us out any way they could. We appreciated their kindness.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Colleen213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

We were staying in another hostel but heard that we had to stop here for the bar hopping experience. The guides that take you around know all the best places and the people that join along make the trip so worth it!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Fearless611824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

This hotel is on a busy street close to city center and walking distance to Trinity College and many other sites. It was close to tour bus pickups, bus routes, restaurants and lots of bars. The location and the fact that it was available with 3 separate beds was the reason we chose this hotel. The service was good at both reception as well as the restaurant.

You do need to understand when staying in this area that late night noise is going to be there. It is part of being in the Temple Bar district. We were there the day of the GAA championship and there were lots of celebrations. The second night was College night next door and there were lines of students outside. There are bars on either side of the hotel and more on the front and back side. Lots of folks gather outside to smoke and talk and the noise goes on until 2-3 a.m. We were on the fourth floor and could hear the noise outside.Ireland does not have much need for AC so many locations do not have it, including this one. Our room came with a portable fan to be put in front of the open window. The second night we were there we also found the little bags of earplugs which were most helpful! .

One thing that was helpful was the voltage adapter vending machine in the lobby for 4 Euro. The adapter I brought did not work with my curling iron so needed a stronger one and the one the machine worked. With as many items that need charging these days,,,,phones, Ipads, etc. I recommend having more than one adapter available for US travelers.

This was my first time staying in a boutique type hotel. It has character instead of cookie cutter rooms in a chain hotel. If needing this type of accommodation again, I would stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruisequeen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

My wife booked this hotel for her birthday in July. We usually stay elsewhere in Dublin but I think after such an enjoyable stay here we'll be back. Our room at the front overlooking Dame Street was comfy but noisy due to the traffic (but that's only because it was hot in July and we left the window open for fresh air). The breakfast was plentiful and set us up for the day. Car parking close to the rear of the hotel was a bonus. Staff were all courteous and efficient.

Room tip: Rear of the hotel MAY be a bit quieter than the very busy Dame Street at the front.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews