We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hostel in a perfect safe location with wonderful, friendly, and helpful staff members”
Review of Ashfield Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashfield Hostel
Ranked #11 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed 31 October 2017

I came to Dublin for a girls Ireland trip, however my friend could not make it due to airline/plane flight circumstances, thus making this my very first solo trip in Europe. With the help of very friendly staff members, I was able to stay in a four bedroom room at this hostel. My room was very clean with amazing city views. I felt very safe at this hostel location and the staff members made me feel so welcome there. The hosts are some of the most kind-hearted people I have ever met. I would absolutely stay at this hostel again. Some of the amazing things about this hostel (aside from the super wonderful staff members) were free wifi (with excellent speed and availability anywhere in the hostel), complimentary breakfast, great city views from the hostel rooms, very clean rooms, hot showers, comfortable beds, many choices for sitting areas, cozy couches, and common kitchen (with tea/hot chocolate/coffee available at all times!).
Most importantly, as a solo traveler, I felt very safe at this hostel and staff members were available 24/7 to help with any questions I had throughout my trip (such as booking me a shuttle back to the airport at the end of my trip). In addition, this hostel is very close walking distance (about 2.5 to 3 minutes) to the tour bus stops (for those who are doing any tours from Dublin) as well as to all the major pubs (such as the Temple Bar), shopping districts, and Trinity College.
Overall, I would absolutely recommend staying at this wonderful hostel to all travelers, no matter the type of trip you are taking through Dublin, because this hostel is amazing and would make your trip even more enjoyable :)

Room Tip: All rooms are great, just ask the staff and they will accommodate you with the best option for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zyellowsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017

Location is obviously excellent. Other than that, not good. The hostel is dated and poorly decorated. Decor not comparable to the other hostel options available in Dublin, which are of a similar price and location. En-suite bathrooms are cramped and floor tiles where loose and wobbly under my feet. General amenities present. Generally, a poor hostel experience.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Triprewiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed in a double private room. The room and ensuite bathroom are small but it is a nice place to stay. It is in an excellent location. Good wifi, decent free breakfast and there is a shuttle bus the hostel can organise directly from the hostel to the airport for €7 from 3.30am onwards which was an excellent service!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mcfly_85_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

I couldn't believe how close the the main parts of Dublin this was! The room I had was the Ashfield Room, and it was a huge 15 bed dorm.
Everything was OK, except the cages under the beds where luggage is stored were squeeky and kept waking people up.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Robdavies88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

i arrived from airport at 4 am i checked in but was then given my sheets all others were asleep in room so too dark could not turn on lights to dress the bed. breakfast was perfect will visit again as perfect location in city centre

Room Tip: late arrivals should have their beds dressed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bunty04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 130 in Dublin
2,253 reviews
Temple Bar
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Abbey Court
#7 of 130 in Dublin
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Abigails Hostel
Abigails Hostel
#8 of 130 in Dublin
728 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 130 in Dublin
2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashfield Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield Hostel

Address: 19/20 D'Olier Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Ashfield House)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: €17 - €110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashfield Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashfield House is Dublin's most centrally located Budget Accommodation centre. Located beside Trinity College and only 2 minutes from Dublin's trendy Temple Bar, it is an ideal location to discover Dublin's many attractions and sample the best of Irish culture and night life. Ashfield house offers accommodation in twin, family and 4/6 bedded rooms and all rooms are en-suite. A light continental breakfast of Cereal, toast, juice, tea and coffee is included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ashfield Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashfield House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing