We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing in Dublin quite compares to The Shelbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nothing in Dublin quite compares to The Shelbourne”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This will be my first 5-Star review (I think) after over 20 reviews on Tripadvisor. Our Friday night at The Shelbourne was as close to heaven as we are likely to get - great service, warm welcome, great location and fab room - not to mention wonderful breakfast.

The fact that we were upgraded from the Heritage Park View room we had booked to a suite may have helped (!), but our experience outside this fab room also gave us so much pleasure.

First the room - beautifully proportioned bedroom and bathroom. The "other" room was big enough to entertain a party of 10 guests in style. Only gripe was that we noticed pillows were extremely firm - at 2am as we were about to go to bed. I called housekeeping, who delivered 4 soft pillows straightaway, with no fuss. Expected that the spare pillows would be of different firmness to the ones on the bed - but couldn't find any spares.

Enjoyed breakfast - very comfortable surroundings, tables well-spaced, porridge made on milk or on water (!), with honey straight off the honeycomb to sweeten it. Toast delivered while still warm. Selection of fresh fruit might have been wider and selection of cheese was a bit disappointing - no provenance noted (a lost opportunity to promote our high quality Irish farm-house cheeses). But these are moot points in a really pleasant, relaxing experience.

We dined elsewhere in the city, but returned for a few drinks to the hotel. There is a buzz in this hotel like no other in Dublin - mostly Irish guests, not normally resident in Dublin, intent on living it up for a night or two in this great hotel. The main bar here is the place to go to enjoy true Irish craic.

Why will I return? - genuinely friendly staff, stylish and comfortable surroundings, great location (at the nexus between good pubs and great restaurants around Baggot St., with shopping and more casual dining available around Grafton St.). Would I enjoy it do much in a more standard room - less so, no doubt, but absolutely enough to call me back for a return visit!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weekend-holidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in detail following your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our welcoming staff, our bar and our location. We are always delighted to offer upgrades upon availability and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the additional luxury our suites offer. The ultimate compliment to us is to hear that you will return to our hotel in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back and I hope to have the opportunity to personally meet you during your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,379
    685
    310
    129
    64
See reviews for
727
1,569
113
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

There are many reasons I am always drawn back to the Shelbourne, even after staying in another fine hotel in Dublin. The service, location, comfort and beauty are certainly among those reasons. The staff cannot do enough for you. As others have said, the breakfast is wonderful (ours was included with our room), and the bar is a fun place to socialize and a reasonable place to eat a light meal. Only one minor negative about this hotel is the high fee for Internet (wifi) use. We stayed at three other 5 star hotels on our Ireland trip this month (Lough Erne Resort, The G and the Ritz Carlton Powerscourt) and the Shelbourne is the only hotel that even charged for Internet service. This hotel is much too high class to do this. Other than that, it gets an A+!!!

Room Tip: Ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel as your favourite hotel while in Dublin and for taking the time to share your impressions. We are delighted to hear that most aspects of our hotel continue to exceed your expectations and create truly memorable stays. Our central location, bars, breakfast and especially our staff service. We have noted your comment regarding our Internet Charge. Our Senior Management Team are currently reviewing our Internet Charges. We await your return once again and look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Shelbourne is my go to hotel in Dublin. Although room sizes and layouts vary depending on which part of the hotel you are in, the rooms are always clean and comfortable. The lobby, lounges and restaurants are all very classic and the scene in the bars is memorable. Breakfast is a bit expensive if not included in your room price but is always fresh and appealing. My interactions with staff are efficient and pleasant. Great location and the fireplace in the lobby is a classy touch!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ketelup4olives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. We are absolutely delighted that The Shelbourne is your hotel of choice when staying in Dublin. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy your stays and appreciate our welcoming staff, food and beverage outlets and our location. The ultimate compliment to us is a loyal guest who continues to experience and enjoy our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012 via mobile

Not only was the hotel amazing but the staff took it to the next level! We were treated like royalty during our entire stay. The room was beautiful. The food was great & the bar was a great social setting!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel while in Dublin and for taking the time to share your impressions. We are especially delighted to hear our staff exceeded your expectations and created a truly memorable visit. We await your return and look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed in Feb '12 on a Saturday night, just my wife and I, and had a very relaxing and comfortable stay.

Everything at The Shelbourne is just nicely done. The decor, the furniture, the bars, the service. It's not ostentatious, it's just very, very comfortable, friendly and pleasant. Everything a good hotel should be.

The rooms are very well appointed with very comfortable and spacious beds, proper blackout curtains, decent sized and well fitted-out bathrooms and good TVs. Ours (on the 8th floor I thnk) had floor-ceiling windows and view south to the Wicklow mountains.

Overall, I can highly recommend The Shelbourne. I would definitely return and would really look forward to it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Shelbourne. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your weekend break at our 'grand hotel'. It is always a pleasure to hear that all aspects of your stay met your expectations, especially your room allocation and view. I am happy to hear that you will choose to stay with us again in the future and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne.

Kind Regards,
Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.5 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,839 reviews
0.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,197 reviews
0.4 km away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,036 reviews
0.8 km away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,464 reviews
1.1 km away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing