We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,988)
Filter reviews
1,988 results
Traveller rating
876
564
301
137
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
876
564
301
137
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews octagon bar temple bar cleaver east restaurant river view the penthouse upgraded to a suite mini bar lovely hotel street noise dublin castle the location is perfect trinity college grafton street bono liffey ireland pubs
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 1,988 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2018

We recently stayed here as we had visited the hotel often many years ago when we lived in Temple Bar. It is nicely decorated all in wood and hasn't aged since we were last here 14 years ago. Our room was large and so quiet I couldn't believe we were in the centre of Temple Bar! The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast wasn't included in our stay and was a little pricey at €19 per person but they did give guests a €3 voucher. Have to say the breakfast was great. I had the pancakes and bacon yum.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

It was our pleasure to have you stay at The Clarence recently and to hear your stories of when you lived so close to the hotel. Your kind words about the team are wonderful to read and we hope it's not too long before we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

Never again my room had thumping music like being in a nightclub to gone 3am and when complained to reception nothing happened no one explanation. Originally was upgraded to a suite (203) the most noisiest hotel Ever in Dublin....

this room should be free as it’s almost part of the club!!!! Would get more sleep
On the street......

If you want quiet and sleep don’t stay here .. never again and I am here all time in city....last mistake I make

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

It's a pity to read that you experience such disturbance from a neighbouring venue of the hotel during your recent stay. We have made efforts to reduce the impact of this though it's not possible to block it entirely. It's unusual that the room you occupied experienced noise at all as typically this room is not impacted upon but nevertheless your experience was otherwise and this is of course regrettable. It's disappointing to know you won't be a returning guest and we appreciate you chose The Clarence on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Excellent hotel, excellent location, excellent breakfast, excellent staff, excellent service, excellent experience!
The Clarence is the ultimate place to stay when you want to be within walking distance from most attractions.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KimFrellsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay at The Clarence. It's a pleasure to read you found every aspect of your stay to be excellent and we hope you'll find a reason to return to The Clarence in the future for another excellent visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

The hotel is very nice old fashioned but also modern.
The staff are wonderful helpful polite and nothing is to much trouble.
Our room was delightful roomy very clean and tidy.
The bar was good and the restaurant was very good.
Great location and not expensive .

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

It's great to read a positive review such as this and especially that the team here ensured you had a great stay. We look forward to hopefully seeing you back at The Clarence in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

The rooms are right size. Design is traditional. Location can’t be better for nightlife. Back door on Temple Bars. Octagon Bar is very good. Rooms can be noisy. Prices at bar/restaurant are top end. Not happy at 5 euro tray-charge for room service. Since it’s not optional, include in price!

Fabulous Club Sandwich. Good value in Bar

Despite reminding maid daily ... we didn’t get the complimentary water.

On arrival at 11am we had to wait 4 hours (after 3pm) for Room to be prepared. No issues. It was small and pokey. Would have spoilt w/end break. Credit to receptionist who handled it really well. Thanks . Turned customers into fans. We’d come back for good deal. This was once best Boutique Hotel in Dublin. I think it carried along by U2 patronage and location. Need to create a more exciting buzz

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank WorkNPlayHomenAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Clarence and we note each piece of feedback you mention in it and we're delighted to hear the service of the receptionist turned you into a fan of the hotel. We hope to see you back in the future when we hope the less positive points in your review will where possible have been addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews