We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in Dublin”
Review of The Clarence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clarence
Ranked #42 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2017

The hotel is well located on the quays within a short walk to the shopping streets. There are many restaurants and bars surrounding the hotel. The room was large and bright but the bathroom needs renovation and modernising.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PortugalJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

We're happy to read you enjoyed being so well located during your recent stay with us and we hope to see you back at The Clarence in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 1,822 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017

Stayed in the Clarence just prior to Christmas – a small number of guests it seemed. We paid about 440 Euros for two nights and, unfortunately, we felt it was overpriced. The room we got was quite small and had very little of the style of a boutique hotel. Despite the double glazing, city noise was a problem. The room did have tea- and coffee-making facilities, and Paul Costelloe toiletries in the bathroom. There was a limited number of channels on a smallish TV and wifi connection very slow. The Octagon bar was dark and almost empty. The staff is quite international and some were not very conversant in English. The breakfasts were fresh, with lots of fresh options in addition to the Full Irish breakfast. Overall there was not much luxury on show and would use another hotel in Dublin next time.

Room Tip: Consider a different hotel at better price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

It's a pity to read you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay and we note your feedback which will be acted upon where possible. Despite the perceived shortcomings we hope you were able to enjoy some aspects of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in October. The staff was friendly and helpful. We drove up from Shannon so parking is a challenge due to the fact that we had to park on the opposite side of quay. Otherwise it is in a central location .
We had a room with a balcony city view. It was a great idea until we realised we were facing the alley, where we listened to life of Dublin to the wee hours of the morning.
The hotel was the perfect location to explore Dublin. A hop, skip and jump from Temple Bar, Trinity Uni, Palace etc...
I would stay again, just in a different room away from the traffic.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JullesBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

It's great to read that you would stay again and that you found the team here at The Clarence to be friendly and helpful as well as enjoying the fact we are centrally located. We hope your next visit to The Clarence isn't too far away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Good location but it's looking a little tired. Loud nightclub outside our window. No ventilation in room so became really stuffy. I'd rate it 3 star and nothing special - our friends stayed at The Westin nearby and that was leagues ahead.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Woods833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

When I visit Dublin, I always head straight for The Clarence, as it is well known for being ‘the best hotel in Dublin’ and time after time, I have had fantastic experiences at The Clarence, especially when I used to have friends over, book into the Penthouse and have a blast. So visiting this time, as always we booked The Clarence but unfortunately only for 1 night.

When we arrived outside, there was no concierge to be seen, so we unloaded our hold-all and proceeded to reception. As we had a very early arrival, we fully understood that our room would not be ready, so we handed our car keys to reception and decided to head out for breakfast. We left our contact details for reception to call us when the room was ready but this never happened. Our room was ‘ready’ at 2.30pm (although the chap who showed us to our room let it slip, that it had been ready for a while), which was annoying.

The room we had was a junior suite with a great view of the Liffey, which I always love. The room was well appointed but as a couple more TA folk have mentioned, the room was very tired (photos attached). I had some cousins arriving for drinks in the evening, so I advised them to arrive early, as not to have to barge our way to the bar as we have had to do so in the past. This never happened. We had the bar to ourselves.....on a Friday evening.....in the middle of Dublin.....? We were all bemused. The same happened at breakfast. There were 4 of us. The staff whilst attentive, actually came over to the buffet table (whilst we were getting juice), to ask us hastily what we wanted for our hot breakfasts. We ordered and he ran off to place our order and not shortly afterwards came back with our food. Needless to say that he then decided to ‘set up for lunch’ around us, thus encouraging us to eat up and not mess around. Nonetheless the food was good as was the service.

My point in writing this review is this. I have a deep affinity to The Clarence Hotel as many, many fond memories have been spent here. The staff knew your name. Knew your drinks order. Brought you a complimentary coffee knowing you had had an early flight. Knew the room you had the time before and asked if you wanted the same room again. Insisted they brought your luggage in from your car but overall, had a laugh with you and showered you with genuine Irish charm....something money couldn’t buy. So then to pay €400 upwards per night was actually irrelevant, as the ‘experience’ was what you were buying.

Although the staff looked after us, were courteous and brought us everything we asked for, we had no interaction whatsoever. If 20 words were spoke us, then this would be about it. No charm, no chat, no warmth, no welfare concerns. Nothing. On top of my room rate, food and drinks one would then have to wonder whether on my next visit I would head straight back or look around for another hotel. Only time will tell.

Room Tip: River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PeterClarke2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 152 in Dublin
2,438 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#35 of 152 in Dublin
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#16 of 152 in Dublin
2,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence

Address: 6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: €103 - €348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence boasts fifty bedrooms and suites, along with our world famous Penthouse Suite. Our rooms range from Classic through Deluxe and on to our River View and Garden Terrace Suites. Our furnishings are simple: classic Shaker oak, beds dressed in cool white linen, sitting elegantly in contrast to a palate of vibrant cardinal colours, rich drapes and luxe carpets. We aim to provide all the simple needs of our guests and we offer 'round the clock room service and all rooms have complimentary WiFi as standard. Our city centre location means car space is at a premium, but we do have a small underground car park that can be reserved for a small nightly supplement. It is also worth noting that our location does mean that the area can be lively at night, especially at the weekends and while we have taken every effort to reduce noise, it is not possible to block it all out. Please do consider this before booking. Within the hotel complex there are many drinking and dining experiences, from the chilled out bliss of The Study to the super stylish Octagon Bar, the perfect spot for an afternoon cocktail or a laid back nightcap. We also have Michelin star chef Oliver Dunne's Cleaver East restaurant within our walls and we are very proud that Oliver and his team provide all catering at the hotel, so whether it's a late night bite in your room or a Full Irish breakfast the next morning, you know your food will be of the highest standard, made from the freshest produce, closely cared for by Michelin starred hands. In the bowels of our building you will find the luxurious cocktail and food bar The Liquor Rooms, home to Dublin's arts set and the first ROI bar ever to be nominated in the prestigious Tales of the Cocktail Spirited Awards. On our first floor, overlooking the River Liffey lies The Cleaver East Suite at The Clarence, which can be reserved for special occasions, from large weddings to intimate business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing