We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,016)
Filter reviews
2,016 results
Traveller rating
889
572
305
139
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
889
572
305
139
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews octagon bar temple bar cleaver east restaurant liquor rooms river view the penthouse mini bar lovely hotel street noise dublin castle central location trinity college grafton street bono liffey ireland pubs
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 2,016 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Stayed in the Clarence just prior to Christmas – a small number of guests it seemed. We paid about 440 Euros for two nights and, unfortunately, we felt it was overpriced. The room we got was quite small and had very little of the style of a boutique hotel. Despite the double glazing, city noise was a problem. The room did have tea- and coffee-making facilities, and Paul Costelloe toiletries in the bathroom. There was a limited number of channels on a smallish TV and wifi connection very slow. The Octagon bar was dark and almost empty. The staff is quite international and some were not very conversant in English. The breakfasts were fresh, with lots of fresh options in addition to the Full Irish breakfast. Overall there was not much luxury on show and would use another hotel in Dublin next time.

Room tip: Consider a different hotel at better price.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

It's a pity to read you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay and we note your feedback which will be acted upon where possible. Despite the perceived shortcomings we hope you were able to enjoy some aspects of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in October. The staff was friendly and helpful. We drove up from Shannon so parking is a challenge due to the fact that we had to park on the opposite side of quay. Otherwise it is in a central location .
We had a room with a balcony city view. It was a great idea until we realised we were facing the alley, where we listened to life of Dublin to the wee hours of the morning.
The hotel was the perfect location to explore Dublin. A hop, skip and jump from Temple Bar, Trinity Uni, Palace etc...
I would stay again, just in a different room away from the traffic.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JllesBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

It's great to read that you would stay again and that you found the team here at The Clarence to be friendly and helpful as well as enjoying the fact we are centrally located. We hope your next visit to The Clarence isn't too far away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Good location but it's looking a little tired. Loud nightclub outside our window. No ventilation in room so became really stuffy. I'd rate it 3 star and nothing special - our friends stayed at The Westin nearby and that was leagues ahead.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Woods833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Disappointing to read your review, and sorry you found the hotel noisy from the club next door. Westin is a different class of hotel with a different price point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

When I visit Dublin, I always head straight for The Clarence, as it is well known for being ‘the best hotel in Dublin’ and time after time, I have had fantastic experiences at The Clarence, especially when I used to have friends over, book into the Penthouse and have a blast. So visiting this time, as always we booked The Clarence but unfortunately only for 1 night.

When we arrived outside, there was no concierge to be seen, so we unloaded our hold-all and proceeded to reception. As we had a very early arrival, we fully understood that our room would not be ready, so we handed our car keys to reception and decided to head out for breakfast. We left our contact details for reception to call us when the room was ready but this never happened. Our room was ‘ready’ at 2.30pm (although the chap who showed us to our room let it slip, that it had been ready for a while), which was annoying.

The room we had was a junior suite with a great view of the Liffey, which I always love. The room was well appointed but as a couple more TA folk have mentioned, the room was very tired (photos attached). I had some cousins arriving for drinks in the evening, so I advised them to arrive early, as not to have to barge our way to the bar as we have had to do so in the past. This never happened. We had the bar to ourselves.....on a Friday evening.....in the middle of Dublin.....? We were all bemused. The same happened at breakfast. There were 4 of us. The staff whilst attentive, actually came over to the buffet table (whilst we were getting juice), to ask us hastily what we wanted for our hot breakfasts. We ordered and he ran off to place our order and not shortly afterwards came back with our food. Needless to say that he then decided to ‘set up for lunch’ around us, thus encouraging us to eat up and not mess around. Nonetheless the food was good as was the service.

My point in writing this review is this. I have a deep affinity to The Clarence Hotel as many, many fond memories have been spent here. The staff knew your name. Knew your drinks order. Brought you a complimentary coffee knowing you had had an early flight. Knew the room you had the time before and asked if you wanted the same room again. Insisted they brought your luggage in from your car but overall, had a laugh with you and showered you with genuine Irish charm....something money couldn’t buy. So then to pay €400 upwards per night was actually irrelevant, as the ‘experience’ was what you were buying.

Although the staff looked after us, were courteous and brought us everything we asked for, we had no interaction whatsoever. If 20 words were spoke us, then this would be about it. No charm, no chat, no warmth, no welfare concerns. Nothing. On top of my room rate, food and drinks one would then have to wonder whether on my next visit I would head straight back or look around for another hotel. Only time will tell.

Room tip: River View
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PeterClarke2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Sorry to read your review. There is only one concierge working at any one time at the hotel, so its possible that he was off helping other guests when you arrived, but he would have been available shortly after. Check in time is 3pm and we do try and contact early arriving guests that their room is ready if it is before 3pm. Also sorry that the bar was not busy when you went there on the Friday evening but sometimes thats the great thing about the place. Hopefully we will see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Lovely hotel and rooms. Located looking over River Liffey and approx. 1 minute from Temple Bar area. Very nice staff. Relaxed atmosphere in hotel during day but struggled to sleep in room number 308 due to loud music, not sure where it was coming from. Ensure you pack you earplugs or request a room in a quiet part of the hotel.

Room tip: Request quiet room! Had a problem with TV in room but was quickly replaced by working TV by a very helpful member of staff.
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank victoria3032016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, General Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Many thanks for your 4 star review. Sorry that the outside noise disturbed you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews