We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A piece of oasis on the other end of Temple Bar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paramount Hotel Temple Bar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #63 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A piece of oasis on the other end of Temple Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

The 1930s look doesn't mean old or outdated. Rather, the furnishing is elegant and the bedding clean. The room and bathroom spaces are more than adequate for two. There are fresh green apples at the front desk to take. The elevator produces some loud noises but it's still safe. Close to Temple Bar and across from City Hall and Dublin Castle, the location is convenient to walk to many spots, even at night. The airport bus stop is nearby. Two Queen of Tarts are nearby too. The Porterhouse nearby is a great pub / restaurant with actually tasty dishes. There's a nice and big gay/lesbian lounge a few doors down, and a gay dance club around the block too for LGBT travelers. There's also a straight dance club with bouncers standing outside nearby. However, the noise at night is at minimum. Overall this is a great accommodation worth coming back to.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillTravelForStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    613
    241
    69
    49
See reviews for
103
628
64
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

My family and I stayed here for a few nights during our vacation to Ireland and although we were only in Dublin a few nights, they were a great few nights! We stayed at the Paramount Hotel, which although was a bit hidden and meant a short walk down cobbled stones with our bags it was an ideal location once we had checked in. And we didn't hear any late night noise from Temple Bar.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northants
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

A most enjoyable stay over st patricks weekend. The rooms were clean and comfortable plenty of hot water. Yes it was noisy in the very late evening but its temple bar the party point of Dublin so if you want a quiet evening dont book any hotel in temple bar. If your up for it then this is the place too stay all the staff we came into contact with were cheerful polite and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oliee397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I was incredibly lucky to find vacancy at this hotel as my brother decided to make a last minute trip to Europe over his Spring Break and wanted to go to Dublin for St. Patrick's Day. After searching the internet for multiple hours a day for two weeks, I finally found a triple room at this hotel. The location is perfect if you are in town to visit the bars. If not, you may find it loud. Again, it was St. Patrick's Day so my assumption is it was significantly louder than normal. We were on the fourth floor and could hear noise from the streets. It did not bother us as we were in town for the festivities also.

The triple room was adequate for the three of us. The room was incredibly large (Europe standards.. a bit above average US standards) with a large bathroom. If it hadn't been so pricey (St. Patrick's Day), I would have no qualms. Everywhere was expensive during this time so I can't really complain. I would not pay that price outside the holiday weekend however. You can probably get a better deal at a different hotel as there are many wonderful hotels in the city (I have been there several times).

The hotel is above a bar with a strong smoke smell. The hallways had a funky smell as well. To our relief, our room did not have any of these odors.

I'm very picky about hotels so I can't offer a strong recommendation. That being said you will likely be satisfied with your choice if you stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanel832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

The hotel is nice with alot of character; however, our room had not been properly cleaned before we arrived, having someone else's carton of juice sitting on the un-hoovered floor beside the bathroom that had someone else's footprints all over the floor. The room itself was large and comfortable despite the radiator being on full blast no matter how hard we tried to turn it off- therefore we had to sleep with the window open and in full hearing of the Temple Bar night life. Definately a hotel for young people who don't really care about the noise, or the slap dash cleaners- who, on our second day threw our pjamas in a heap on the floor, and aside from making the beds didn't replace any glasses or anything. A little pricy for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#82 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#27 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#80 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Clarence
#45 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Temple Bar

Property: Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Address: Essex Gate, Parliament Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#62 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Hotel Temple Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Dublin's thriving Temple Bar area and within close proximity to Dublin's main shopping districts, tourist attractions and public transport systems. 2km (approx 20min walk) to the brand new National Convention Centre & O2 concert arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Paramount Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Dublin
Paramount Dublin
Dublin Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing