We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 21:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Hilltoptreks
from US$45.40
More Info
from US$42.95
More Info
from US$115.43
More Info
from US$51.54
More Info
Reviews (1,221)
Filter reviews
1,221 results
Traveller rating
935
200
50
21
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
935
200
50
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews powerscourt gardens hilltop treks wicklow mountains day tour guided walk the bus booked this tour private tour great trip enniskerry johnny hike horses van scenery ireland monasterboice
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 1,221 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2019

Awesome ride on our visit. Ashley was a great guide and tapered our ride to our experience level. At the end of the ride she sent everyone else (with less riding experience) on to the barn and took us for a nice canter. Highly recommend!

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank JodiC32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry-hilltoptreks, Owner at Hilltoptreks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2019

HI Jodi, I'm delighted that you enjoyed our day tour of Wicklow with the horse riding option and thank you for the excellent review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2019

We were just amazed at what we were able to see in one (chilly, rainy) day! Newgrange is beyond incredible, a megalithic passage tomb 5,200 years old. Also the Celtic crosses, castles, and the Hill of Tara were all fascinating! It was a small group which was nice. Our driver was knowledgable and patient, and he (literally) sprinted to the ticket queue at Newgrange so he was able to get us tickets (first come, first served - lots of tours are disappointed!)

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry-hilltoptreks, Owner at Hilltoptreks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2019

Thank you Judith for the excellent review of our Celts and Castles Tour, I'm delighted that you enjoyed the tour and the guide looked after you so well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2019

We booked on to this tour as it was one of the cheapest we could find and covered the locations were were most keen to visit. Our driver was lovely and gave really interesting facts, we were gutted that we'd spent €20 on the hop on hop off bus tour when this tour gave us enough interesting facts about Dublin as well as the Wicklow/Powerscourt/Glendalough tour.

The tour started with a visit to Powerscourt which is definitely worth a visit and was a nice place to start the tour off. The gardens were visually impressive to see and there was plenty to explore in the allocated time, as well as a quiet cafe. Next we went to Enniskerry which was a lovely little village square. We were so glad that our tour guide chose Poppies for lunch, when seeing the selection of food we were both a bit weary as the same menu in England would be extremely bleak and unpleasant. However, the food at Poppies was incredible, it was nothing like either of us had tasted before and we both left wishing we could go regularly. It was also a nice change from Dublin's food prices as everything was so cheap especially considering the quality of the food.

Next we drove through the Wicklow mountains and the driver gave us so much information which made it even more intriguing. The mountains were beautiful and we got to stop at the P.S I love you bridge and Guinness lake for photo opportunities (for which the driver was happy to take photos of people on the tour, something we really appreciated). Finally, we arrived in Glendalough which was just as incredible as the mountains with plenty of paths to explore.

The tour was perfect, it was an amazing experience that we won't forget and was our favourite part of the holiday. If we were to revisit Dublin we'd definitely revisit these areas, and would actually consider staying in Wicklow or Glendalough. I was extremely impressed by how perfectly timed the tour was. I was admittedly weary because I was concerned the stops would be too long or too short but they were all perfect for the time we needed. We managed to explore powerscourt with enough time to spare for a toilet and cafe break, had plenty of time for food at Poppies, enough time for multiple photographs at the stop and a lot of time left to explore the various pathways in Glendalough.

I would have loved to give this 5 stars, the only reason I didn't is that the minibus was quite uncomfortable. I was weary after seeing some other reviews, but it wasn't as bad as I'd prepared myself for. It was comfortable and I personally had enough room and found it a bit nicer than a large coach. However, there seemed to be a problem with the shock absorbers, every speed bump made me feel very unwell with the extreme jolts that were happening. It's easy to understand why the shock absorbers were an issue, if this tour runs every day through the bumpy country roads it's bound to happen but did impact the comfort of the journey.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry-hilltoptreks, Owner at Hilltoptreks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2019

Thank you very much for the very positive and incredibly detailed review of our day tour of Wicklow..... we need to use smaller buses to get you some of the places other tour companies cant bring you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2019

My day trip in Wicklow Mountains with the horse riding has been the best trip I've ever made, ever -- hands down. I couldn't believe how beautiful the entire place was, how accommodating and friendly the people were at the horse ranch for a first-time rider like me (Thank you Joe and the girls!) . Our guide and driver Matt deserves a raise. I don't know how much he's paid, but he deserves more. He made the entire day so much better with his positive attitude, articulate and interesting narration, and he established clear rules and deadlines for the journey. I can't thank him enough!

Considering the value this trip provides for your cultural understanding, appreciation for nature, and nourishment for the soul, you simply cannot afford to miss this. I'd recommend this trip to anyone who has the patience to listen to me ramble about it.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Matti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry-hilltoptreks, Owner at Hilltoptreks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2019

Wow what a fantastic review.... I'm delighted that you had the best tour ever..... Matt is well paid and more importantly he is greatly appreciated like all our guides, he is at the forefront of our company for a reason but I'm sure he will definitely appreciate your kind remarks about his intelligence and story telling, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2019

We purchased this tour, prior to our cruise, directly through the company online. The savings were substantial compared to any shore excursions offered on the ship. Our cruise ship arrived at port and we had to take a shuttle to get outside the gate as walking in the port was not allowed. We decided to walk to the Molly Malone statue meeting place as we had 1 1/2 hrs. Let me say that we just barely made it between the long distance and getting lost. The guide showed us that street signs are on the sides of buildings, not at intersections later that day. From that point, we had a great day. There was about 16 of us in a mini van. There were a couple of options on this same tour. We dropped a few people off to go horseback riding and the rest of us went to Powerscourt Gardens. Admission was not included, but the guide did go in with us and get us all started (I believe it was only 8-10 euros). We had a couple of hours here to explore and then we moved on to a town to get lunch/shop while he went back to retrieve the horseback riders. Following this, we toured the beautiful areas of Glencree, Wicklow Mountains and Glendalough, with several stops for photos and interesting sites, including movie and film locations. The guide was very nice, interesting and knowledgeable of the area. He also spoke of week long walking tours through this same area, which would be fun if you had the time. We finished the day walking a trail around the Glendalough Lake and monastery area. The guide was great at explaining where to go and what time he expected us back. At the end of the day, after dropping others off in town, he drove us back to the cruise ship port and dropped us off right at the gangway. We were so thankful for this!

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry-hilltoptreks, Owner at Hilltoptreks, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a detailed account of your day, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your tour of Wicklow with us and that our guide was helpful and dropped you back to your ship.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews