We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great evening in Seagrass” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seagrass Restaurant

Seagrass Restaurant
Ranked #768 of 2,526 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great evening in Seagrass”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was my second time to eat here and i wasn't disappointed. This was the first night of a new menu. I had crab ravioli to start with and hake as a main course - delicious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This is also a BYOW restaurant, which makes it even more enticing. Well done

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carolkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    47
    25
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Incredible value and tasty food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Is this the cheapest and tastiest plate of food in Dublin?! When you factor in wine....I think it is. There were nine of us ladies heading out to watch the rugby for a friend’s birthday, so we decided to meet for an early dinner at 5:30pm. I'd booked a few weeks in advance being a Saturday. We opted for the early bird dinner which was 3 courses for €21. The food was incredible - I opted for a lovely, smooth, chicken liver pate, which was presented very nicely set in a little glass with different textures and chutneys on offer. For Main I opted for the pork belly with sweet potato and ginger onions. There was a lovely piece of pork (huge piece - but no crispy skin as it had been braised). Very tasty indeed. Then a perfectly nice apple crumble to finish. Best of all - it's BYO with NO CORKAGE. So you can bring a bottle of your favourite wine rather than choosing a bottle for €30 and being disappointed. Service was fantastic as the food came very promptly, and service was very efficient. They were very accommodating, with some people choosing off the a la carte menu – not a problem at all. Three of us stayed to finish our wine, and we never felt rushed even on a busy Saturday evening service. By the time we left it was fairly full. Every plate that was served was well presented, thoughtful and a decent portion. Best of all it was tasty. Only disappointing thing of the night – the rugby was cancelled.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MsFromage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“a really good athmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I have passed this restaurant so many times on my bus and often made a mental note to visit it ,so when a friend suggested we would have our annual Christmas get together there I was delighted ,and when she said we can take our wine there I was over the moon .
The staff here are great very friendly , one waitress recognised my friend who lives in Mullingar and came over to speak to her ,how nice.
The food was superb ,we by choice missed the earlybird ,but I shall try that the next time .
My only tiny criticism is that it is qiute small and tables are close so not the place to tell all your secrets
The food was great the staff very attentive and by the amount of customers that night Seagrass has many well deserved fans .
Unfortunately I had to leave early but I will be back .

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank madrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Visit spoiled by service and out of control customers.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Visited on a Tuesday night and surprised to find place packed. Staff were equally surprised and the 2 waiting staff were run off their feet.They did their best, but took an hour to get starters and whole meal took three hours.
Seemed to be a large party of teachers having a party before long summer hols. We were celebrating a special birthday and had to endure a succession of speeches and then a raucous singsong.
Despite the pressure the food was surprisingly good, with starters, mains and desserts all up to scratch. The BYOB was badly needed and we had no problem getting through our wine during the 3 hours.
I presume the two large groups had prebooked, so no excuse for being understaffed on the night. They all were availing of the good Early Bird offers, but were still singing their heads off when we left at 11pm. We, paying the full price, were the ones penalised on the night.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hotdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Reasonable food, over-priced and slipshod service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

Possibly because there was a party in the basement service was poor the night we visited. It took a while to order, we ordered two mains - lamb shank and a nice cod and asparagus dish - which took over half an hour to arrive. Took a while to pay the bill. Impression of a not very well run restaurant ... but a decent kitchen.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank haroldscross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seagrass Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Seagrass Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing