We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious steak at the usual inflated Dublin prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chophouse Gastro Pub

The Chophouse Gastro Pub
Ranked #39 of 2,527 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub, Steakhouse, Irish, Bar, British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dining Options: Lunch, Dinner , Private Dining, Reservations Please see our website
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious steak at the usual inflated Dublin prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited early on a Monday evening and it became quite busy while I was there. The atmosphere was warm and the staff kept a nice buzz about the place. There is a full bar and decent wine list.
The meat is the star of the show here and my steak was perfectly cooked and nicely seasoned. There was a few tasty sounding specials on the board so if it's fish or meat you are into, you won't go wrong here.
Located in an affluent part of Dublin you can expect the prices to be a bit.... saucy.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    158
    44
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great meat restaurant- you can choose your meat before it's cooked for you but don't bring vegetarian friends

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Marina0071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What, no plates?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a tasty dinner here, friendly environment and served promptly but the food turned up on a piece of wood....not sure about this - how clean is a lump of wood?

  • Visited February 2017
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best food in dublin bar none”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The usual excellent food / service was had yesterday evening in my favourite eatery in Dublin. Always pleasant staff , most notably Joe ( manager) We shall keep returning !!!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank punter1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
359 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good food, great service and atomosphere ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was on my list of places to try while visiting. I walked here in a Sunday night. Note they that are only open until 8pm on Sundays. It was pretty full and they only had one space left for a party of which I gladly took. The bartender came over and explained things to me. I asked for a cocktail and trusted his judgement after I told him I prefer brown liquor. I believe I got some version of an old fashioned. I went with the baked oyster special a type of oysters Rockefeller. It wasn't all that hot when it came out and was 3 oysters and just ok. He recommended the ribeye so I went with that. It came with fries and green beans. The steak was cooked a nice medium rare. It was a good steak. Maybe I was hoping for something more unique and special from a gastro pub than steak frites but it was good. I'd recommend this place and would go again. I was staying at the Hilton on Charlemont so it was a bit of walk and isn't in a big restaurant/pub area.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank gondekp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chophouse Gastro Pub also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Chophouse Gastro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing