We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What, no plates?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chophouse Gastro Pub

The Chophouse Gastro Pub
Ranked #37 of 2,526 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub, Steakhouse, Irish, Bar, British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dining Options: Lunch, Dinner , Private Dining, Reservations Please see our website
Paris
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What, no plates?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a tasty dinner here, friendly environment and served promptly but the food turned up on a piece of wood....not sure about this - how clean is a lump of wood?

  • Visited February 2017
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    158
    44
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best food in dublin bar none”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The usual excellent food / service was had yesterday evening in my favourite eatery in Dublin. Always pleasant staff , most notably Joe ( manager) We shall keep returning !!!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank punter1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
359 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good food, great service and atomosphere ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was on my list of places to try while visiting. I walked here in a Sunday night. Note they that are only open until 8pm on Sundays. It was pretty full and they only had one space left for a party of which I gladly took. The bartender came over and explained things to me. I asked for a cocktail and trusted his judgement after I told him I prefer brown liquor. I believe I got some version of an old fashioned. I went with the baked oyster special a type of oysters Rockefeller. It wasn't all that hot when it came out and was 3 oysters and just ok. He recommended the ribeye so I went with that. It came with fries and green beans. The steak was cooked a nice medium rare. It was a good steak. Maybe I was hoping for something more unique and special from a gastro pub than steak frites but it was good. I'd recommend this place and would go again. I was staying at the Hilton on Charlemont so it was a bit of walk and isn't in a big restaurant/pub area.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank gondekp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHicago, IL
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Flavor!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the most delicious food our of trip. Shared the chicken & foie gras pate with a fruit compote. So creamy and piquant. Mmmm. THen I had their burger - the BEST I have had in ages! Thick, juicy, seared on outside, well seasoned on a brioche bun. My husband loved their steak. We shared the apple cake with ice cream - very nice. Had nice service and the menu looks innovative even though we chose standard options. Highly recommend.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank CynthiainChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Have just left the Chophouse having had one of the most wonderful lunches ever.
Joe and the team were welcoming and helpful .
The food was wonderful.
Starters squid for me and prawns for dave
I had the nicest piece of cod to follow.
The last time I had such a fresh piece of fish was in Fishy Fishy in Kinsale.
Dave had a pork chop and we shared a baked apple cake.
Coffee was proper freshly brewed with a nice bite.
Loos gleaming.
All in all a wonderful treat.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chophouse Gastro Pub also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Chophouse Gastro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing