We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stellar suite”
Review of The Merchant House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Merchant House
Ranked #22 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A stellar suite”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

This is truly the best guest house we have ever stayed in. Located within Temple Bar, the Merchant House is perfectly located if you want to explore Dublin.

We stayed in the W B Yeats suite. Beautifully appointed with one double bed and a single bed. TV and DVD player, clock radio with iPod functionality, plenty of lights, a fridge, a bathroom with a heated floor. The service is impeccable and upon arrival, we were greeted and taken to our suite.

The one thing that did surprise us was the inclusion of ear plugs. The Merchant House is opposite a night club so please bear this in mind.

All in all, the Merchant House is the best guest house we've ever been in. Thoroughly and highly recommended. We are definitely booking again.

Room Tip: There are quite a few flights of stairs. The W B Yeats Suite is on the second floor but well worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BobsBobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    53
    14
    2
    9
See reviews for
19
139
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Superb little guesthouse delighted we chose it. Very clean, modern comfortable and we really enjoyed our stay. The location is perfect, right in the heart of temple bar. We found the parking in fleet street quite expensive, even tho u get a discount if ur staying in the merchant house. We were parked from 5pm until 4pm the following day and were charged 24euro. The breakfast in the little cafe around the corner was excellant and included in the price..

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PogWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We spent 3 nights at Merchant House, Temple Bar, Dublin. Excellent location and superb cozy suite. Host and staff were very kind and welcoming. It was a pleasure to go for breakfast at the cafe around the corner. Food was excellent. Almost all the sights are within walking distance or a short bus ride. We really enjoyed our visit to Dublin and our stay at Merchant House. We highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed 2 nights in July over a weekend. Great location where we could easily walk to many sites, and our suite was very comfortable and nicely appointed. While the Temple Bar area did tend to get noisy at night, we still enjoyed our spacious suite and would definitely stay at the Merchant House again. As a side note, others have remarked that the bathroom glass door did not offer full privacy. In our suite the bedroom was on one side of the entrance hall and the bathroom on the other. We were traveling with our kids and just closed the bedroom door to provide more privacy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boomerang09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Just came back from 2 nights staying at the merchant house. We were in the Bram Stoker room and couldn't hear any of the noise that previous reviewers have mentioned. Great welcome by the manager. Food was fine at the cafe and the bed was really comfy. Brilliant location for all the sites. Would def recommend The Merchant House to anyone. Free, fast Internet is also a plus!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MandyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,795 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,689 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merchant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merchant House

Property: The Merchant House
Address: 8 Eustace Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D02 KX31, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merchant House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merchant House is a restored award winning early Georgian building situated in Temple Bar, the cultural capital of Dublin City. The building in Eustace Street started out as a Merchant's house in the early Eighteenth Century. After extensive and lengthy refurbishment, luxury Guest Suites were created. It is our intention to offer our Guests spacious luxury Suites with total privacy in the heart of Dublin City. Our sound proof windows, beautiful furnishings, free Wifi and beautiful decor all help to create a relaxing environment for our Guests at a very affordable price. Breakfast is great value at €12 per Guest and served 1 minutes walk from The Merchant House. Some stairs to climb . All our Suites are called after Irish writers. Check In is by appointment with your personal Housekeeper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merchant House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing