We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a laugh”

Viking Splash Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$24.38*
and up
Dublin Viking Duck Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our Viking tour guides are the most engaging and amusing that you are likely to find in Dublin City. With our fantastic Amphibious World War II Vehicles (DUKWs) the tour will show you around the sights of Dublin City by land and by water!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“what a laugh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

anthony our tour guide was brilliant. all 16 of us booked this after recommendation from our relatives who live in dublin. we learnt a lot about dublin but it was so funny roaring at the celts with our viking hats on.
its a must in dublin. we loved it

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne38England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,059
    308
    63
    18
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Ancient and Modern History crossed with Stand up comedy and D-Day landings!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

It's Dublin Jim, but not as we know it!

The Viking Splash tour is a well put together and rehearsed mix of a historical tour and stand up comedy driven by the driver, whilst intermingled with Viking helmets, roaring at the locals and, eventually, taking to the water.

To me it shows the very best of the Irish character, a warm, witty and self deprecating mix thats sure to leave you laughing or gobsmacked - worth taking a pullover or coat as it can get a little cool when you take to the water

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy_Burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossmolina, Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Unexpected good fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I wold never put the Viking Splash Tour on a must-do list for Dublin. There are far more important thigns to see and do in Dublin.

But I equally wouldn't discourage people from going because the tour is surprisinglty good fun. The tour itself is simple: you drive around the city in a WW2 amphibous craft, drive into the Grand Canal basin and then drive back to where you started. Along the way the guides do a good job of pointing out buildings of importance, but the piece de resistance is the way that the guide watches for unsuspecting people walking along the street, and then gets the whole tour boat to shout at them a la invading Vikings. The reaction of the folks on the streets just gets everybody into raptures of laughter... It all makes for a quite enjoyable experience.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank globe_grotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting and very fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I had a great time on this tour. Very funny guide AND informative.

Helpful?
1 Thank nugglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Had a great time on the splash tours, gotta book in advance though, we were lucky and walked up and got a cancellation.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank KevClarke0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viking Splash Tours also viewed

 

Been to Viking Splash Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing