We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food doesn't come cheap.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dax Restaurant

Dax Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 2,526 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$42 - US$81
Cuisines: French, European, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Description: Awarded "Best Restaurant in Dublin" in the Irish Restaurant Awards 2014. Located just off Fitzwilliam Square in the heart of Georgian Dublin, the award winning Dax Restaurant is one of Ireland's premier places to dine. The Dax menu uses only the freshest seasonal Irish and continental produce. Our commitment to healthy fine dining is experienced in an informal and relaxed atmosphere. Dax is the perfect location for social or business dining.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food doesn't come cheap.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A group of 8 went for dinner. There was nothing wrong with the place, the food was excellent but it is the up market type of restaurant that can be found in most capital cities throughout the western world. Nothing " Irish " about it so don't go if you are looking for a typical Irish night out.
The cost was typical of any city, which means expensive. The wine list was huge but so were the prices. Spanish wines which you can buy in a Spanish supermarket for 12 euros were on the list for nearly 50 ! You can eat just as well for much less and feel like you are in Dublin at the same time.
However, the Souffle was worth the trip - I am told .

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank russ p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    117
    31
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dax - better than the place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been to the restaurant and the town in South-West France that inspires the cuisine. The town is nothing great to see - a bit like Mallow with everyone speaking French (admittedly, that would class up Mallow a bit). The restaurant, on the other hand, is super - well worth the trip. I've been here with my partner, with groups of friends and I've brought business colleagues here. Food always great - I'm happy to let the staff guide me, on both food and wine. Looking forward to my next trip!

  • Visited November 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GoingToATown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently went to Dax for a pre theatre meal. The service and food were of a good standard. Tasty if not quite michelin star standard. The wine is quite expensive. We suggest a good reasonably priced wine say around 20 euro or less were offered as a house wine it would attract more custom. Service was really good.

  • Visited February 2017
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank unigis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“French Visitors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had some French business colleagues in Dublin and decided to brink them to Dax. They were overwhelmed with the food and service. The wine was also excellent and a great night was had by all. A small part of France in Dublin.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank peterfoley352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just delicious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My second visit and the food on both occasions has been absolutely delicious. Staff are so helpful and friendly that you thoroughly enjoy your whole evening. A sing song erupted the night we were there and the atmosphere is just so relaxed and enjoyable. Highly recommendable in my opinion.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Yevragca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dax Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Dax Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing