We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St
Ranked #1 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I was concerned as had read mixed reviews on the web site. There were six of us and all being female wanted two bathrooms so opted for the penthouse. It was perfect. It was not only clean and tidy, but the 24 hour reception was efficient and helpful too. It was idealy located so easy to walk into the centre. The staff were very helpful and arranged a late check out for us, but I was not aware that this was 10 euros per hour. However, it was worth it as gave us the extra day as did not have to rush to check out.
Would certainly recommend the penthouse, beds very comfortable and the carpets although still damp when we arrived, really did not mind as it meant they had all been cleaned. The bathrooms were well equipped. Only 2 minor negatives, the shower cubicle in the ensuite bathroom the panel that slid was actually too small, so you either had a gap by the wall where the shower is mounted, or a gap in the middle where you stood. There was enough towels and these were clean and it was well equipped with an iron, washing machine, dishwasher etc. Wish I had thought to pack a couple of dishwasher tablets. They also supplied some tea, coffee and sugar sachets which were very much appreciated. I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: If a large group with smokers I would recommend the penthouse, as 2 bathrooms and a very large balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,448 - 1,452 of 1,967 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

I stayed here from 2nd- 5th august in a group of 6 in a three bedroomed apartment (27). taxi from the airport cost us 24 euros which was less than we were expecting. Check-in was quick and easy and our apartment was 2 floors up over the reception so we did not have to go across the courtyard which other people seem less than impressed with. Our apartment was lovely and clean. Unfortunately, we'd asked for 2 rooms with a double bed but when we got there all three rooms had single beds but this was no matter as the beds just got pushed together. The bedrooms and bathrooms were a bit shabby, scuff marks up the walls and stains on the carpet and some peeling paint around the bathroom mirror. It seemed to all members of my party that the apartments are meant for long term accommodation, due to the amount of cupboards in the kitchen. We went to the reception to ask where the nearest supermarket was and they were very helpful. Apartments are ideally located with the bus stop for both tour buses just across the bridge. Reception staff were so helpful and attended everything we wanted including another toilet roll and some milk. Will definitely go back there if i ever go back to dublin

Room Tip: 27 looks out onto busy main roads on both sides but not really that loud considering its a city cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

In appartments with cooking facilities one expects to be able to cook your meals. We booked this appartment to cook our own meals because of foodallergies.But it took a lot of effort to get one pan and a day later a frying-pan.The housekeeper was not very helpfull in this.We stayed a week with two pans.This was disappointing.Further everything was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ling U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I stayed here with my family - all five of us in July, 2011. The huge advantages to this place are location, comfortable and functional space, and price. The accomodations are good. The place is clean. I enjoyed it. Everything worked great. With kids, the kitchen and laundry facilities can't be beat. For family travel of more than four to Dublin, this is the place to stay in my opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3beans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We rented a three bedroom, two bathroom "penthouse" apartment for two nights.

Ok, the good -- it was cheap. Kinda. And the laundry worked. And it was walkable to many places.

The bad -- well, let me count the ways:
--It smelled so musty when we got there.
--The freezer door wouldn't shut; it was just a block of ice
--The balcony that was part of the penthouse idea didn't have doors that worked. We couldn't use it.
--The place needs a paint job--badly. There are scratches and scuffs everywhere. It felt more like a much-used college dorm.
--No internet. We got a cable, but it still didn't work. It just stalled and wouldn't load pages.
--Advertised prices for tours don't match what they ask you to pay when you go to the front desk. If you want a bus tour, just get your ticket on the bus. We saved 2 euro each.
--No shower door in the master bathroom. Really? How do you not expect water to get everywhere?
--Only a half roll of toilet paper in each bathroom. No extras offered.

That said, I think they just need a better management team and a facelift to get the place liveable. The things that were terrible could be fixed pretty quickly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleyinathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,677 reviews
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#71 of 150 in Dublin
1,435 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#42 of 150 in Dublin
4,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St

Address: The Schoolhouse 42-76 Saint Augustine Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: €65 - €268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These Serviced Apartments in Dublin City Centre are finished to a very impressive standard. They provide the guest with a true home from home. We offer a selection of 21 one-bedroom (sleeps 3), 77 two-bedroom (sleeps 5) and 12 three-bedroom self catering apartments (sleeps 7), each fully furnished and complete with bed linen and towels. 24 Hour Reception, Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi access available. Each apartment comes with fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, microwave oven, TV and lounge/dining area. Quality serviced apartments right in the heart of Dublin city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Augustine Apartments By Staydublin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing