We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
A highlight of our trip to Ireland!

My mom and I had an amazing and insightful session with Patrick at the Irish Family History Centre... read more

Reviewed 19 October 2021
sfry41
,
Cincinnati, Ohio
Best in class experience to find out about your Irish Family History

The Irish Family History Centre is a must visit place for those interested in finding out about... read more

Reviewed 30 July 2020
A7504UEpeterg
Read all 119 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Dublin
from US$74.09
More Info
from US$73.01
More Info
from US$30.06
More Info
from US$28.97
More Info
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
90
12
13
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
90
12
13
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews irish roots highlight of our trip genealogy patrick information ireland session discoveries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Really cool experience if you have any Irish ancestry and everyone was very nice. Patrick was so helpful and continued to do research even after we left!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Bailey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 December 2016

i thoroughly recommend visiting the centre if you wish to research your Irish ancestors. Patrick the genealogist was so enthusiastic and helpful. He found information for us while we were there and has sent us e-mail updates since we returned home to England
Mgt/Roger

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank mgtsale4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

This has been the highlight if my trip to Ireland, so far. Patrick was wonderful in researching my Irish heritage. Beyond knowing my grandfather's name and that he was born in Dublin, I knew absolutely nothing else. Patrick assiduously discovered so much more and I now have a strong desire to follow up with the free access to the two databases that comes with the Heritage Centre fee. It was money very well spent from my point of view.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Deckland spent some time with us and really gave us some great insight on things to look for and where to find helpful information.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank grumpyldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

In a post-election night dystopian haze, I visited Epic Ireland and the Irish Family History Centre. As a first generation Irish American whose mother always spoke of separation from her family and beloved country with such sadness, I expected to be informed and moved by being immersed in the diaspora. I wasn't disappointed as I was moved to tears within minutes of my arrival by the audio and video of Irish people leaving. Truth be told, I ugly sobbed and was hugged by a kindly staffer. . The Epic Ireland experience was well worth the price of admission. However, what I did not anticipate was how AMAZING the Family History Center would be.

I approached with a degree of skepticism anticipating a kindly lad shoving a list of useful sites at me and sending me on my way. Instead, I was warmly greeted, and introduced to Patrick Roycroft, henceforth, the Irish Genealogy Wizard. Patrick spent an inordinate amount of time with me and followed up by email. He began by orienting me to the available online resources, and inquiring about my Irish relations. I decided to focus on my paternal family whom I know less about. I knew my grandfather's name and that he was "probably" born in the late 19th century near Bantry. Within seconds, the Wizard had the 1930 US census information, finding my grandparents. There in front of me was their dates of birth, entry into the US, date of naturalization, and marriage. I wondered aloud how my grandfather managed to miss being drafted in the Great War, and just like that the Wizard had his WW1 draft record. It was very moving to see his handwriting and address, and his country of origin as the Irish Free State.

From there the Wizard took me back to Ireland, finding my grandfather's birth certificate (I'll now remember him on January 23rd, thank you Wizard) I now know who my great grandparents were, and that my great grandfather was an illiterate farmer. The Wizard is also very conversant in Irish history and helped me to understand that my great grandfather was not a slacker, rather the penal laws and poverty likely prevented him from attending school as a Catholic.

The Wizard then gave guidance on how to get copies of actual documents (including a map to the appropriate government agency) that I will need to obtain my Irish passport. He then emailed me copies of all of the documents we found on-line, with links to sites on which we found the information.

I am now ablaze with the desire to learn more, and thanks to Patrick and the Irish Family History Center, I have the tools to begin my journey. No doubt, my beloved Irish mother and a chorus of Sullivan's, Daly's, O'Neills and Harringtons are shining down on me.

If you have a scintilla of desire to learn more about your Irish roots, don't miss a visit to Patrick the Genealogy Wizard at the Irish Family History Center.

Date of experience: November 2016
5  Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews