We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem to be savoured in Ballsbridge”

Girl and the Goose Restaurant
Ranked #64 of 2,935 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$23
Description: Dedicated to innovative and creative food, Our team serve their dishes in an uncomplicated way that relies on freshness, taste, presentation and local ingredients. You will be welcomed by easy-going but attentive staff in a warm, relaxed and informal environment and Our menu that confidently celebrates homemade Irish cuisine with a twist. We are open everyday at noon and continue until late in the evening.
Restaurant details
Description: Dedicated to innovative and creative food, Our team serve their dishes in an uncomplicated way that relies on freshness, taste, presentation and local ingredients. You will be welcomed by easy-going but attentive staff in a warm, relaxed and informal environment and Our menu that confidently celebrates homemade Irish cuisine with a twist. We are open everyday at noon and continue until late in the evening.
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

This restaurant is up one flight of stairs , and is tastefully decorated throughout..with lovely geese featuring in the paintings and ornaments

The Menu has a wonderful selection to choose from and it was very competitively priced without any compromise on quality from my experience

We both had a delicious duck parfait with rustic French bread and cranberry and port jelly .. good indications for a delicious lunch to follow

While we both had heavier dishes not normally consumed for a summer lunch.. Beef and Guinness pie , and Lamb Shank, the presentation and flavors were so great that there was no regrets...

Despite the filling main courses we decided on an Apple Galette and Rhubarb and Strawberry crumble for dessert - both so worth it !

I can't fault this restaurant- food was delicious, service was friendly and you have the distinct feeling that they are not trying to rip off the customer... a rare experience

They deserve to be successful and I hope to be back soon and share around the good vibes from this gem of a spot before that .

Just Go !

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank Compass810298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 128 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

We were working at the RDS and wanted a descent meal for a change. My wife googled nearby restaurants and luckily the Girl and Goose popped up.
The menu looked very interesting and extremely reasonable with starters around €6.50, mains €16 and dessert around €6.50
We received excellent service, delicious food and the only disappointment being that it isn't close to home.
Will be making a point of visiting whenever we are in Dublin.
Thank you for a fantastic experience!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank 649nickye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Dined here before the Phil Collins concert & found the food to be excellent, service good & price more than good for this area of south Dublin.

We went for an early dinner & found the restaurant almost empty, but it filled rapidly.

The menu is quite varied so should cater to most tastes & portion sizes are good too. Nice wine list also.

Would certainly visit again if in the area.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank BarryM999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Cannot fault this place...menu caters to all tastes and they have traditional dishes that other restaurant overlook. Prices excellent based on the quality of food delivered. You will be spoiled for choice. Do not miss!!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank vanessahR1671TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Came with 3 work colleagues after a recommendation.
Nicely decorated space, and for a Tuesday night quite a few tables were taken.
Food actually was excellent, especially the darne of salmon. My colleagues pie also looked sensational and all dished were nicely presented. Even the selection of ice-creams for dessert. Good service and mid range prices. The only downside was the rather odd piped chamber-music constantly through the evening!!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Girl and the Goose Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Girl and the Goose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing