We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Arrived mid afternoon with a group of friends but our 3 rooms were not ready. Not a problem, especially when we were offered a complimentary drink by way of compensation. One of our party were celebrating a birthday and was upgraded to a junior suite which was spectacular. All of the bedrooms were stunning. The beds were so comfortable we all had a fantastic nights sleep. The food in the restaurant was delicious and I'd definitely recommend the steak. We didn't use the Spa this time but we'll definitely make sure to try it out next time. The Spa staff were only too happy to show us the facilities available. Every member of staff was extremely attentive and were willing to assist in any way possible to ensure we were comfortable throughout our stay. The only disappointment was having to say goodbye at the end of such a fabulous weekend. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennedyClan2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,373)
There are newer reviews for Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,944 - 1,948 of 2,373 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just back from weekend break here. Lovely, spacious rooms, quiet, nice pool of decent length, great food (though more traditional than innovative), pleasantly atmospheric bar with sofas and fires, lovely breakfast and excellent service. My husband's fillet steak arrived well done rather than medium - they not only brought a second medium steak along with fresh side orders, they didn't charge for either steak!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed for two nights and had a fantastic time. The whole experience was great, food was excellent and the staff could not be faulted.
One of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in and I would go back tomorrow!
It really is a must if you are in this part of the world.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappySnapper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

stayed here in Jan on a travelzoo voucher which was really good value, but was a bit peeved to find out that the €50 restaurant voucher could only be used against a €55/head menu (this wasn't mentioned anywhere when booking the voucher) but anyway, food in the restaurant was lovely, desserts were brilliantly presented!
spa is a bit strange because yuo have to walk outside in your slippers and robe?! but it was really good in the spa, pool jacuzzi and steam room.
rooms were amazing, huge bathroom etc.
breakfast the next morning was really delicious.
all the staff in the hotel were very attentive and friendly which made the stay, i def would go back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAMember03062012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We have the pleasure of staying at Solis Lough Eske Castle for a second time recently. I cannot say enough about Solis. On this occasion we were met in the car park (not even the front door) by a member of staff who had been parking another guests car, and took all our luggage to the hotel. From the moment you set foot in the Castle its like another world. The smell of the open fire to the relaxed atmosphere. Check in was quick and painless and we were shown to our beautiful room with a separate seating area and huge bathroom. We had a drink in the bar and chilled of the afternoon. We had a booking in the restaurant that evening and the food was fantastic. I can recommend the steaks! On to the bar for a night cap, to be given a complimentary glass of champagne as we were celebrating our anniversary. A nice surprise. Breakfast the following morning was equally as good - don't leave it until the last minute though to get there as the restaurant seemed to be getting busier as we were leaving. We did not make use of the spa this time however we have previously used it and again I cannot fault it from the pool, to the hydro suite to the therapies themselves. If you are after a quite relaxing getaway from it all break then I cannot recommend Lough Eske Castle enough.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank butterfly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
1.2 km away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,198 reviews
4.7 km away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
926 reviews
4.8 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
424 reviews
17.6 km away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
601 reviews
37.0 km away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: €178 - €282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is a historic castle dating to the 15th century and closely identified with the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing