We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
6
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
5
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2018

Our week at the Donegal Boardwalk Resort (formally Cuan na Ri) was a very pleasant stay. We were told that the complex had a recent overhaul and it was evident. We (2 adults & a teen) stayed with our small dog, in a semidetatched cottage which was fresh and clean. The open plan living area had a two and a three seater sofa, single chair together with a small kitchen table and four chairs and a fully kitted kitchen. There is a seperate formal dining area and a downstairs WC. Upstairs has two decent sized doubles (one en-suite) and a 'snug' single with bunk beds. There is also a family bathroom with an electric shower over the bath. All home comforts are provided for. Outside has a decked area which unfortunately doesn't have outdoor furniture but as the weather was so great, we used the small kitchen table & chairs out there. It was a great base to travel around Donegal and further afield from and the boardwalk itself was a great amenity, together with the bar/restaurant, tennis and basketball courts. The one thing I would like to see there is a recycling area? If you recycle at home, why not when you are on holiday? The area by the 'Office' at the entrance would be an ideal spot! All in all, a very enjoyable stay and George, the Caretaker is a gentleman. We will certainly be visiting again!!!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MicheleF124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Have never rented a holiday home before but was pleasantly surprised Cuan na ri was lovely modern, comfortable houses. A bit of a walk to the beach though. Within a few miles of the nearest town or shop but nice never the less.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank AnnetteMaeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

This was our second visit to Cuan Na Ri - we went in June. The detached Vila is very comfortable especially for about 4/5 people. There are 2 bathrooms in these properties. The location is just stunning. A great place for the children if they have bikes. The beach at Tramore is beautiful. The restaurant on site is very good too and there is so much to to do and see in the local area. The houses are pretty much true to the pictures on the website, very clean and spacious. George the man on the ground is incredibly helpful. As with all rentals you do need to bring your own supplies of necessary items so as not to be caught out but there is a general store nearby which sells everything. Do bring some fold up garden chairs if you want to sit outside on the decking, weather permitting.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Booked two houses for a family wedding. Just needed a few days but had to book the full week at €950 per week for a semi detached house. They also charged £8 per day for electricity and heating. So €1006 per house per week. Two of the smallest double beds I've ever seen and a room with bunk beds. Sleeps six but only a three seater and two seater sofa. One guest presumably has to sit on a dining room seat?
One shower between six people and that's in the en suite. Welcome pack was a packet of biscuits and a pint of milk. Three forks in the cupboard, four mugs and two beer glasses. Half a toilet roll in the bathrooms. Not a picture in the ground floor area but holes in the walls with pipes and wires sticking out. Deck outside but no seats. Fireplace but nothing to put coal into. Needed to change the linen in two bedrooms in each house as we had different people arriving... they had no one to change the linen so we did it ourselves, they then tried to charge us €30 for the extra sheets. Had to give a €200 deposit in cash on arrival.
We all left two days early. Dreadful experience and €2000 worse off.
Should be closed down.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
11  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to come to recharge your batteries and if you like going for long walks on a stunning beach. The beach is within walking distance along a fantastic boardwalk though it may be a bit of a walk for the very young or very old. The walk is well worth the spectacular beach at the end.
The Cuan Na Ri cottages are well laid out and very warm in the winter. This is an ideal break if you like being out and about in all weathers. There is a nice restaurant on site which has a good menu.
Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Carmel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews