We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accommodation, superb breakfast and excellent service”
Review of Donegal Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Donegal Manor
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

I love this place to stay and it is a rare find to find availability here as its so popular. It's only a 5 minute drive into Donegal town and very quiet for a good nights sleep. They have plenty of parking available and you will be safe here.

I stayed here on my birthday as I wanted a night out in Donegal town, where there is live music every night. I also highly recommend a visit to Lough Eske Hotel for food, spa treatments and entertainment.

Our room had 3 double beds for all 3 sisters to be in the one room which was fab. The hosts always remember us when we go back and so you always feel super welcome.

The biggest sell for this place is its home cooked breakfast which is consistently excellent. It's so yummy and makes getting up (even with a birthday induced hangover) well worth the struggle. There is a short window on the breakfast which seems to have changed but nonetheless I love all the food, all of the time.

I left my phone charger in the room on my last visit and they thankfully posted it back to me - that's service right there!

I highly recommend the Donegal Manor for everyone. These guys deserve their consistent high ratings on TripAdvisor.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Ciara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely stay at this Manor. Very friendly hosts, Sian and Michael who always chatted with us. The breakfast spread is one of the best, I personally love their freshly baked scones and banana bread. The rooms are very spacious but could be aired more before we checked in. I do not like the separate hot and cold faucets at the basin, a mixer will be more practical. The shower pressure can be stronger too. Overall, I give the manor 9 stars out of 10. Thank you.
The group from Singapore

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MyLinh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We really enjoyed out stay here. The breakfast food was phenomenal. Hosts were excellent. Would definitely recommend. A Car needed to stay here. Staff was friendly, and informative. Room was good quality

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rrv42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Nice hotel with large rooms.
There is not a bar in the hotel and you can't have dinner!!!
The website says there is but closed for several years now.

The manager in charge is not the nicest person when you mention this.
Price quality is very poor.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank martinholland2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

This is a very old and dated hotel, that added wallpaper to one wall and a throw pillow on the bed. It can make a picture look appealing. They did have large screen TVs in the room also. That said, the sheets on the beds were worn, the duvet cover seem was torn. The doors to the room are flimsy and noise travels loudly. I was shocked and disappointed when we checked in, and it didn't get better.
The only redeeming aspect was breakfast. Yummm. I wish I could have slept elsewhere and eaten there.

Room Tip: Be aware rooms are up a steep flight of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IamMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
2.2 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
809 reviews
3.1 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
2.5 km away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,409 reviews
2.2 km away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
789 reviews
23.5 km away
Bay View Hotel
Bay View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Killybegs
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donegal Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donegal Manor

Address: Clar Road, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Price Range: €84 - €161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Donegal Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donegal Manor offers our guests - style in our beautifully decorated manor, comfort in our spacious deluxe, twin and family bedrooms, ideal location, only one mile from shops, restaurants and Lough Eske, convenient to all attractions in Co. Donegal. Delicious breakfasts - local produce and no queues. Enjoy a warm and sincere welcome from Michael, Sian and staff, and whether you like to relax in front of the log/turf fire or unwind in the privacy of your bedroom - we make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Donegal Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing