We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't know how this got such great reviews”
Review of Donegal Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Donegal Manor
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2017

This is a very old and dated hotel, that added wallpaper to one wall and a throw pillow on the bed. It can make a picture look appealing. They did have large screen TVs in the room also. That said, the sheets on the beds were worn, the duvet cover seem was torn. The doors to the room are flimsy and noise travels loudly. I was shocked and disappointed when we checked in, and it didn't get better.
The only redeeming aspect was breakfast. Yummm. I wish I could have slept elsewhere and eaten there.

Room Tip: Be aware rooms are up a steep flight of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IamMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

We booked a business stay, while attending a local Foodie Event. We arrived and were greeted by a lovely hostess and given room 26, which was at the back of the building away from any road noise. the Room was large and well appointed with very comfortable beds and everything was impeccably clean. We were delighted that in addition to the normal ensuite ammenities, it also included face cloths.

The Breakfasts were wonderful, one morning I opted for the salmon and scrambled eggs, that were well seasoned and presented in a very professionally pleasing way, and the next morning I opted for the pancakes with maple and bacon, which was ultimately more than the sum of it's parts, Fantastic.

The owners are lovely people who are both warm and friendly. We would recommend this to anyone. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Chose to stay here for a wedding at Harvey's Point rather than the venue itself. 5 mins to town and 10 mins to wedding venue was the perfect location. Donegal manor exceeded my expectations, a friendly welcome followed by a cracking clean, well appointed room. Sofa, big TV and a super king size bed. The breakfast was quality with everything you could ask for plus home made cakes and preserves. All in all a top notch place to stay if you're visiting Donegal or going to a wedding at loch eske. The owners are just the nicest people.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Raymomdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Arrived wet and cold following a bike accident. We were welcomed in and were treated with such care and compassion we soon felt so much better. Hotel is spotlessly clean, rooms are spacious and have everything you need. Breakfast was a feast of freshly baked delights, home made preserves and excellent cooked full Irish. I cannot recommend this gem of a hotel highly enough. Such genuinely nice people.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank jwarrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Donegal Manor is a gem! Our room was spacious and clean and the selection of homemade breads at breakfast was incredible and so delicious! I wish I could sign up for their cooking school! The location is right off the main road to town. The innkeepers made us feel welcome and appreciated.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
2.2 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
803 reviews
3.1 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
2.5 km away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,371 reviews
2.2 km away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
787 reviews
23.4 km away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donegal Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donegal Manor

Address: Clar Road, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Price Range: €83 - €151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Donegal Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donegal Manor offers our guests - style in our beautifully decorated manor, comfort in our spacious deluxe, twin and family bedrooms, ideal location, only one mile from shops, restaurants and Lough Eske, convenient to all attractions in Co. Donegal. Delicious breakfasts - local produce and no queues. Enjoy a warm and sincere welcome from Michael, Sian and staff, and whether you like to relax in front of the log/turf fire or unwind in the privacy of your bedroom - we make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Donegal Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing