We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun! Fun! Fun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Donegal Bay Waterbus

Donegal Bay Waterbus
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Donegal bay Waterbus is an 80ft long pleasure boat with full bar,heating and air conditioning, ladies and gents toilets, which provides tours around beautiful Donegal Bay. It takes in amazing views of the bay, the town, the Bluestack Mountains and the amazing seal island with over 200 seals.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun! Fun! Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

The waterbus was very enjoyable. Lots of singing and dancing! And sights were wonderful. Fun to see where my father spent his years as a boy on the bay.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mogyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    58
    26
    9
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Windham, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very pleasant journey around the bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

I think perhaps a few of they other reviewers of the waterbus ride were looking for a "water race car," not bus. We thought the slow trip around Donegal Bay was very relaxing and enjoyable. The staff was friendly, informative and also entertaining with their jokes and the music on the ride back. We went on a very typical "soft" Irish day with light rain alternating with moments of sunshine and it gave us some wonderful scenery back toward Donegal and distant moutains, with sun alternating with dark patches. This was near the end of our two weeks traveling around Donegal, but we never tired of the breathtaking scenery and one of the most interesting aspects of that is their shoreline, which is always better seen from a boat. It was also very interesting to see so many seals together in the wild. All in all I believe it's well worth the money.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank irish062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good ould Irish Craig”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

we went on the waterbus tour about 15 of us for a hen party on the 13 th of august 2011. not too long ago .we came from all over the country !Navan,Roscommon,Sligo,Longford ,Dublin and Monaghan.I'm the chief bridesmaid and my husbands from donegal .my sister the hen is marrying a man from Sligo so we would be used to the area and surrounds!our friends found the accent hard to understand so of course they missed the punchlines of some of the jokes!Back to the trip itself !it was great and I would highly recommend it!the staff on the boat are treasures and are very welcoming.there is an open bar which also serves tea chrisps ,biscuits ,tea,coffee etc.....there's a great family atmosphere and all ages are welcome!one of the staff tell jokes for a while then there's a fantastic singsong.they give the history of the bay and surrounds!the best part of this were the seals u get close enough and it's good to see them in their natural environment.we didn't drink much on the trip too busy singing.best part of the whole weekend .the hen agrees .we will definitely be back with the kids and the husbands too of course!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank shezebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For me, time wasted”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

The waterbus is very slow, doesn't travel very far, and the only thing you actually see, other than lush Irish countryside, is some seals in distant water.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sara55197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonegalBayWaterbus, Manager at Donegal Bay Waterbus, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Hi Sara,
I hope you enjoyed your visit to Ireland and are delighted you chose to visit beautiful Donegal Bay on the Waterbus. We note with regret that you did not enjoy your trip. We do appreciate that even though thousands of visitors leave the trip with a smile on their face each year that an rare time a odd visitor may not be happy.
We endeavour to provide something for everyone - some people enjoy the fascinating history, others enjoy the stunning views, many really enjoy the friendliness and enjoy the entertainment - then others, luckily infrequently, unfortunately don't enjoy anything!
In regards to speed the waterbus travels at a steady 10 knots which is typical of a vessel this size and this ensures that the trip is comfortable. For your hour long trip you cover a large area at a speed that gives you enough time to see all the sights. We do have a higher speed option in the Sea Safari RIB which takes you further out into the open waters which is better for the andrenaline junkie.
The seals are a major attraction and as many visitors' photos & experiences will testify we do get extremley close to these wild animals in their natural habitat.
Hopefully the rest of your stay in beautiful Donegal went good for you and thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth it for the seal colony alone”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

This is an enjoyable trip although once you've seen one of the many Donegal Bay islands, you've seen them all! I concur with another reviewer who said some of the points of interest were quite far in the distance and the seal colony was the best part of it. It definitely was and I would even go as far as to say the trip was worth it for the seal colony alone. The staff on the boat were very friendly and the humour was great although to some overseas visitors this might come across as overly familiar. I wasn't totally sure about the singing on the return journey, as this seemed more like a time filler rather than a deliberate addition to the tour. I would probably take the tour again although I would hope they would try to expand the information given and reduce the on board entertainment.........

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank patrickdavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonegalBayWaterbus, Manager at Donegal Bay Waterbus, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
We are delighted to enjoyed the amazing seal colony. These wild animals in their natural habitat is the perfect way to see these creatures and the Waterbus gives the perfect vantage point. We are glad you say that the seals were worth the price of the trip alone.
This is of course many other things to do also though. Many people take different things from the trip - many enjoy the seals, others the entertainment, lots are facinated by the history and the stunning scenery is popular with nearly everyone. Some people enjoy everything!
It's great that you appreciated the friendliness of the staff - we work hard to to make sure everyone enjoys their time on Donegal Bay. Many thousands of people enjoy this trip every year and when we return to dock everyone has a smile on their face so hopefully that means we are doing something right!
Thanks for your comments and hope you enjoyed your visit to Co Donegal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Donegal Bay Waterbus also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to Donegal Bay Waterbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing