We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$132
PricelineUS$145
Expedia.comUS$132
CheapTicketsUS$132
eDreamsUS$131
Orbitz.comUS$132
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,050)
Filter reviews
1,051 results
Traveller rating
387
321
159
99
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
387
321
159
99
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market house country music weekend hen party town square lovely hotel food was lovely top class diamond patricia ireland starters
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,051 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2020

We stayed in the Abbey Hotel in a triple room with my teenage kids. I will start with the positives, we booked and ate dinner in the Market House Restaurant, the food, ambience and staff , were all an amazing experience which made our trip memorable!We were served by Aine and she went over and beyond to give us exceptional service,awesome , thanks Aine!

Our check in was at 4 but we arrived early at 2 , and the very friendly receptionist accomodated us immediately and said the room was ready! On entering the hotel, its all very morden,clean and inviting and had that holiday feel of a really good hotel. The location is the best for touring around the county!

We got to our room, what a dissapointment! The room was stuffy, stains on the carpet,cold and the beds were so hard and uncomfortable. We stayed out most of our stay in Donegal as we did not want to go back to the room as we could not relax in the room.It felt like the hotel and the Market House Restaurant were two different worlds. The shabbyness of the hotel compared to the class and finese of the restaurant.

On our first night , we went down for dinner at 7.30 pm and were told that we had to dine elsewhere as the restaurant was fully booked. At no time during check in had we been advised to book dinner as residents and it was such an inconvinience to look for somewhere to eat.

Overall, the saving grace is the Market House Restaurant, I would hoghly recommend dinning here.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wicklowgirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2020 via mobile

Fantastic hotel for the price. Perfect location. Staff were very friendly. Food was excellent. We ate in the Market House Restaurant and I can only describe the experience as superb. Post Covid the hotel is doing an amazing job trying to keep things as normal as possible. Loved my stay here. Would thoroughly recommend.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mayg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine McInaw, Sales at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2020

Dear Mayg69

Thank you for your fabulous review, it is such a pleasure to read
We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards
Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2020 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with a group of girls. I could not fault the place. All staff members we encountered were lovely, and so down to earth. We eat in the Market House Restaurant in the evening. The food was delicious, and the menu had so many different varieties on it. There was a lovely little atmosphere also in the place. We enjoyed cocktails, and drinks. The guy who was serving our table for our drinks order, needs a special mention. He was brilliant! The rooms were so spacious and clean! Cant wait to visit again! Keep up the good work guys! ☺️

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank lauradY1497SZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine McInaw, Sales at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2020

Dear Laura

Thank you for your lovely review of your girls night away. We are delighted to read about your experience and appreciate your nice feedback. I do hope you have the opportunity to return again soon

Kind regards
Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2020 via mobile

Stayed in the Abbey which is a really nice hotel in the centre of the town. The pool was closed but that didn’t affect our stay.
All staff are more than welcoming and helpful whilst having to deal with all COVID 19 restrictions.
The food was lovely and I would highly recommend a visit!
A special thank you to Patricia Wilson who was super helpful & kind during our stay

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank francesmM7739HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine McInaw, Sales at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2020

Dear Frances

Thank you kindly for your lovely review and taking the time to give your feedback
We are very proud of our team front of house and in the kitchen so i am delighted you enjoyed your experience. I will pass on your comments to Patricia

Hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards
Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2020 via mobile

I stayed here with a group of girls during the week and I couldn’t fault our stay if I tried! Our check in was smooth with a very friendly receptionist! Everything from the rooms, to the staff and the atmosphere was immaculate! We had dinner and drinks in the market house restaurant which was second to none! In particular the young man who served our drinks was a delight! The rooms were spotless and comfortable! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely love to come back!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Zozo122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine McInaw, Sales at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

Dear Zozo122

Thank you kindly for your review of your recent stay in the Abbey Hotel
We have a wonderful team and always appreciate feedback
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards
Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews