We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (894)
Filter reviews
894 results
Traveller rating
316
288
144
80
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
288
144
80
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market house national holidays sister hotel public car park hen party coach tour caledonian travel town square third floor lovely town double bed hotel bar enjoyable stay course meal room was large reel inn food was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 894 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend had a great time hotel was lovely food was fab and staff were very friendly entertainment was great would highly recommend this hotel I'll definitely will be back for a weekend soon

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank marionsheridan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Well, where do I start. We meet in the bar and went then for the meal in the restaurant. And it was out of this world. The service was excellent and the all the local staff were frindly and helpfull. Also, i thought it was great value. Thanks a million. We will be back.
Paddy

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

We stayed here knowing that the location was perfect for us to do some shopping right across the street as there are several stores around the triangle in front of the hotel. Also, it was very convenient to get off the bus from Galway and arrive directly in front of the hotel. The taxis are situated there as well and we took one to Harvey's Point. The bed was okay and breakfast too. They have a nice restaurant and their dinner was pretty good and reasonably priced. The room was very warm and small but still cozy. We got a fan which was a lifesaver; normally it isn't that hot in Donegal. We just happened to be there for a short July heatwave. Although there was no air conditioning, this is the norm for a three star hotel in Ireland. In fact, we have stayed at 4 and 5 star hotels in Ireland that don't have A/C. Overall, it is still a very good hotel and has an excellent location. The price is also fair. This is the location to be in Donegal if you want to do some shopping. Once again, it is rare that you can take a bus and arrive directly right in front of the hotel to are checking into.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europeantraveler0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

We recently came here for a 50th Wedding Anniversary celebration as this was where the wedding reception was 50 years ago. Staff went truly above and beyond, particularly Danny the General Manager and all else who helped. The food and venue were amazing and rooms were brilliant with bay views. Thanks so much to all at The Abbey for making this is a memorable and special occasion and many thanks to all involved!!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank EireDog2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

We spent one night at The Abbey Hotel while driving around Ireland. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and well appointed and the bathroom had everything including a bath. The hotel is situated right in the town square (which is a triangle) within easy walking distance of pubs, the supermarket etc. and the hotel itself has dining and entertainment.
The Saturday night street noise was not really a problem with the window closed.
The internet was free and fast and even though there is no onsite parking there is short-term parking at the front of the hotel and a public park a couple of hundred metres away.
We had an enjoyable stay and would return.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Lindsay
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Abbey Hotel
We always appreciate feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards
Elaine McInaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews